Reese’s Peanut Butter Banana Bread

You guys are going to flip.

As you probably know, Valentine’s Day is this Tuesday. My boyfriend and I don’t really do much to celebrate Valentine’s Day, and I don’t think that we’ll even be able to see each other at all this year, but I wanted to make him something just to remind him how much we means to me.

So, I started off on a blog recipe and Google search including his favorite ingredient: peanut butter. When I stumbled upon this gem of a recipe, I instantly knew. This. Is. It.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Adapted from Shelly at Cookies and Cups

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed (Mine weren’t as ripe as I would have liked them to be)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used Kroger-brand crunchy natural)
  • 1/4 cup oil (I used canola)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (I used cane sugar)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 8 oz bag of Reese’s Mini cups
  1. Preheat oven to 325deg F.
  2. Grease your loaf pan (I used an 8 x 4 pan).
  3. In a medium bowl whisk together your flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt, set aside.
  4. In a large bowl stir together your bananas, peanut butter, oil, egg and sugars.
  5. Pour your dry ingredients into your wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Batter will be lumpy.
  6. Fold in your Reese’s Mini cups and spread batter into prepared pan.
  7. Bake for approx. 1 hour or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.
  8. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then loosen the edges of the pan with a knife and remove from loaf pan, transferring bread to a cooling rack.

I kept most everything the same as the original recipe, just modified to what I had on hand and trying to make the recipe slightly healthier. Ha!

If you make this, your boyfriend/husband/father/best friend/total strangers will love you. The hour that it was baking in the oven was the best smelling hour of my life, and the batter didn’t taste too bad, either!

And Shelly? Bless your soul.

What are you doing for Valentine’s Day?

What is your favorite bread recipe? (Normal, sweet, or otherwise)

This is my entry for the Cooking Creations contest courtesy of Appliances Online and Clean Eating Chelsey.

5 thoughts on “Reese’s Peanut Butter Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: fun facts friday

Leave a Reply

