Transitions

Halfway through August already? Well, geez!

While I may not be blogging very much any more, I really don’t want to give it up completely, especially this coming school year when I’ll be applying to dietetic internships for next year. I want to share the experience with you all! (Especially my fellow future dietitians out there.)

While I may not be able to get on here every day, several times a day like some of your favorite bloggers, I think that I can for sure commit to you guys at least one post a week. Seems reasonable, right?

Moving on…

Today I got my biannual haircut. I usually get a trim right before classes start in the fall (now) and over Spring Break (March). Now that my hair is colored I’ll have to go in a little bit more than that, but since I’m still trying to grow my hair out I still won’t be increasing the frequency of my trims.

Before

After

Doesn’t look like much of a difference, but it definitely feels a bit shorter when I put it all in a ponytail and it’s slightly healthier.

I’ve been sticking with the Paleo meals as well…

New favorite breakfast, Paleo Pancakes

Portabello Burger

Now, I know that you’ve probably already seen and read a ton about Paleo diets.

I myself just finished reading The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf who I think is considered one of the leaders of the Paleo movement right now.

Here are the basics:

That’s right, no grains. That means that this is a gluten-free diet. Not even rice, oats, or other gluten-free grain alternatives. This means no more cereal or oatmeal. And also no dairy. This means no more Greek yogurt or cottage cheese. And no legumes means no more peanut butter.

I’m still going to drink alcohol on occasion, just not beer since that has gluten in it and I don’t really like it anyway. Also, coffee and dark chocolate are allowed in moderation. I will also probably still eat frozen yogurt from time to time as a treat with my friends and family.

As you can see, this is essentially a high-fat, moderate-protein, and low-medium-carbohydrate way of eating, and I’m good with that. As you can see from a couple of my meals above, I’m not suffering too bad. I mean, burgers and pancakes? Sounds completely normal to me! And I (and my body) are really enjoying the increased amounts of fats, especially from nuts, avocado, and meat.

A lot of people have seen improvements in their health and physiques by going Paleo and I want to see how it affects my GI issues and workouts. I hope that you’ll all stick with me through it!

Training for my half marathons is still only at 66%. I get my shorter speed workouts in alright, it’s just on the weekends where I’m struggling hardcore to get my long runs in. I’ve only done 1/5 so far on my plan. With less than 5 weeks left until the first of my two half marathon I’m getting a little nervous of only running at most 5 miles at once, but at the same time, while it may not be comfortable, I’m pretty sure that I can still finish the race. I’m still doing strength training 3x/week by re-doing the 12-wk program that I got from James Wilson, just at a slower pace.

Only two weeks left until the fall semester begins!

Leave a Reply

