Goodbye Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

2.5 weeks away from the Capital City River Run and 6.5 weeks away from Grand Rapids. I actually managed to get in my long run this past weekend. 9 miles on the treadmill because I really wanted to read my book (I’m making my way through the Game of Thrones books now that I’ve started watching the TV series) and running by myself outside just sounded so unappealing. There were several times that I wanted to quit, mostly out of boredom, but I knew that I needed to get in the time on my feet so I just kept on keeping on and letting myself get more absorbed in the story than the fact that I wasn’t really going anywhere.

My best friend C is moved in with me now and I love it so much already, even with this annoying little key debacle that we keep battling. Electronic locks are not our friend! This past weekend we stayed up a little too late, took a few too many long naps, and spent a little too much money at the mall, but it all made for a fantastically relaxing and enjoyable weekend with friends. And now my mom is finally home after being away for a week to visit my sister in North Carolina. Not like I see her every day, but I like knowing that she’s around! Man, next year is going to be rough when I’m away from her…

All of the students are back in town because classes start TODAY. Seriously, our town doubles or triples in size every time the students come back. It is complete and utter chaos. I’ve been super busy for the past two days dealing with stuff for Welcome Week. Yes, at my school Welcome Week is only 2 days long because classes start on a Wednesday. Don’t judge us.

What classes am I taking this semester? Advanced Human Nutrition: Carbohydrates, Lipids, & Proteins; Advanced Human Nutrition: Vitamins & Minerals; Medical Nutrition Therapy I; and Foodservice Management Experience (our senior capstone project). And I am also a teacher’s aide for Community Nutrition this semester.

I feel ready to take this year by the horns and to live life to the fullest while I still can avoid the full realities of the adult world for one more year, because I definitely count my internship next year as the adult world. It’s basically a full-time job that you have to pay for.

And now I’ll close with some recent Paleo eats.

Zuccini pasta with shrimp and tomato sauce.

Zucchini Paleo Muffin with Sunflower Seed Butter

Eggs, bratwurst, and veggie scramble.

Sweet potato and sunflower seed butter.

 

Paleo pancake.

Wish me a good first day of school, everyone!

One thought on “Goodbye Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

  1. Your semester sounds quite a bit like mine! Or at least I think it does… to be honest I know all of the numbers for my classes (FN 457, 458, etc.) but I don’t remember what the actual classes are off hand… :P I do know I have Advanced Nutrient Metabolism, a senior capstone project course, some food service management, and a class dedicated solely to assembling our ePortfolios and applying for internships.

    I hope you (and I) have a great semester! :D

Leave a Reply

