Capital City River Run

Happy Sunday, everyone!

This morning was the Capital City River Run. If you’re a long-time reader, you know that this is the race that I had to drop out of last year because of my hamstring injury. This year, I wanted redemption, and I feel like I got it.

I debated dropping down to the 5K so many times this past week. I really hadn’t been training very well for this race. Sure, I ran 3-4 miles twice a week in speed workouts, but the weekend long run really took a dive. The farthest I had worked myself back up to was 9 miles before I got hospitalized and had to take a break from working out.

But, I decided that I was going to give it a go, without trying to meet any particular time goal. I just wanted to finish and earn the finisher’s medal.

So, this morning I woke up early, and went with my mom to the Lansing Center for the start of the race. She ran in her first official 5K as I was running the half and I’m so proud of her! I think that she actually got 10th or 11th in her age group too!

Anyway, I lined up with the 10:00 pacing group, thinking that I could probably at least sustain that pace for the distance. Once we got started, however, it was apparent that I just wasn’t able to run that slow, and so I caught up with the 9:30 pacer and stayed with that group almost until the very end (a girl’s gotta do that last bit by herself, for herself). I think that it was just the right pace where I didn’t feel like I was killing myself to keep up, but was still challenging.

This is one of the best courses that I’ve come across. The beginning felt a little brutal, because it was pretty much 3 straight miles down Michigan Ave into the sun, but after that there was a lot of paved trail running through woods and across bridges. The shade felt amazing and it was fairly flat most of the way.

There were plenty of aid stations providing both water and Gatorade which was HIGHLY appreciated since I had forgotten my hand water bottle on the kitchen counter back at my apartment so I depended 100% on the aid stations for both water and fuel during the race. I didn’t feel bad at all at the end so I think that that’s a good sign!

I wish that I had worn a little less fabric on top, but other than that the weather was absolutely perfect for the race. And I didn’t finish in too bad of a time given my lack of preparation and otherwise unfortunate circumstances. I think that this was the largest race that I’ve ever run in, and I loved it! There was always someone running with you at your pace so you were never alone. I can’t even imagine what it’s like in big urban races like Chicago or New York City.

Time: 2:04:38
Pace: 9:30
Overall: 701/1465
Gender: 281/843
Age Group (F20-24): 36/60

Just 5 weeks until I run the Grand Rapids half! Let’s see if we can’t improve on that time, shall we?

4 thoughts on “Capital City River Run

  1. Congrats on your race! That’s an awesome time! I just raced in the Brooksie Way half marathon in Rochester-my first race in MI! I’m new to the area and am always looking to network with other healthy living bloggers :) I’d love to read more about races in the area!!

Leave a Reply

