The No-Run Workout and Bad News

Hello my loverly bloggies! I hope you all have been having an awesome week. Most of mine has been spent packing, organizing, and spending time with the boyfrand, who is finally moved back into town for school.

That’s right, classes start in exactly ONE WEEK. Yikes! I haven’t even moved yet and there are still textbooks that I need to get that haven’t even come in to the student bookstores yet.

Pancakes from Pancake Sunday! Don't worry, I use WAY more syrup than that. I'm a drencher.

But I am beyond excited! I get to see so many friends and other people that I haven’t seen for awhile since Welcome Week is when all the parties are. I think that it’s safe to say that I’m going to be a hot mess Thursday night through Tuesday morning.

Put on top of that the fact that I’m going to be rooming with one awesome, fashionable, smart chica and I am one happy camper.

Except for the fact that…

Salad Beast! Spinach, bulgar, hummus, balsamic dressing, black beans, and other veggies.

I’m still injured. At least, I think it’s an injury, I can’t really be sure since I haven’t seen a doc about it. I figure, I’m still able to walk and get around on my own, so there’s no need to try and get an appointment somewhere.

Since my hamstring has kept me from Jillian and running since Friday, I’ve had to get creative with my workouts. Insert oodles of upper body exercises and core work and that’s basically the only thing that has been keeping me sane.

Seriously, WHAT would my blog be without at least one Green Monster?

All I have to say is, thank GOODNESS that I discovered Blogilates in the past week. I would literally have self-combusted without her. Here are a few of the workouts that I’ve been going through:

Upper Body Superset Workout
Inner Thighs
Bikini Ready Abs
Muffin Top Meltdown

But I miss running!…

WaaaaAAAAAaaaaHHHHhhhh!

So, even though I probably shouldn’t have, I decided to test out my leg Tuesday morning. Nothing extreme. I mostly speed-walked and tried jogging (with very, very, short strides) for a few minutes every now and then, giving me a pace of a little over 12-minute-miles, but it felt great. Not my leg of course, the right was raring to go but the left was stiff and, of course, is not 100% yet, but at no time did I ever think that I was in pain. Discomfort? Yes. Agony? NO.

Today will be another test. I skipped work on Monday to give the leg a tiny bit more rest, but I really can’t skip the other 2 days that I work this week since this is my boss’ last week before the new director comes in and takes over. I met the new director briefly last week and she seems really excited for the job, but she has no experience doing anything like this before. It’s like hiring me all over again, except she has so much more that she has to do. I of course am going to do all I can to try and teach her what I know, but since most things were done already by the time I joined last year I’m just nervous for this year’s applicants.

But, I’m going to try and not to worry about that right now, I have other, much more pressing and personally impactful things to worry about.

You may have seen my tweet the other day asking for support and positive thinking. Well, I’m going to come clean about it because I haven’t told anyone and I feel like I really just need to tell someone. My mom is 55, soon to be 56. As many women her age, she gets regular mammograms and had one done earlier this month. The first one was not definitive and so they did a second one early last week. Well, there were some suspicious-looking spots on her scans and  now they need to do a biopsy.

My mother has had to get biopsies done in the past, and they have all come up clean, but she really seems worried about this one. Cancer runs in our family (on both sides for me). She’s been trying to distract herself and not letting herself think about it. Hmm… I wonder where I got THAT trait from. I’m trying to be there for her, but since she doesn’t want to talk or think about it I’m not really sure what to do. Right now all we can do is wait. She hasn’t gotten the biopsy scheduled yet, so I’m not sure when we’ll find out the results.

Sorry to end on such a Debby Downer-sort of note, but the world isn’t all just fuzzy walls that you can stroke and then feel all better!

Do you drench/dunk your pancakes in syrup or eat them dry? – Drench them in mapley sugary goodness!

Don’t forget to read my next College Lifestyles article this Friday. It’s all about veganism! – I’ll be sure to post the link when it goes live!

9 thoughts on “The No-Run Workout and Bad News

  1. Good luck to your mom….I’ll keep her in my thoughts. The same thing happened to my mom earlier this year….she ended up having to get a biopsy and then a little spot removed, but thank god she was okay after that. 🙂

  2. I’m sending good thoughts to your mom. My dad is 2 years recovered from bladder/prostate cancers. It was one of the hardest things to go through, but it’s really inspiring to see that fighting side of your parents. I’m sure you mom can handle anything that comes her way!

Leave a Reply

