Heavy Heart

It is with a heavy heart that I had to do what I had to do today. I withdrew from my half marathon on September 18th. It has become blatantly obvious that the tendon in my hamstring is not going to be healed enough for me to race the race that I’ve been training for since March.

I’m sad, of course, and it’s taken me a long time to accept this, and the fact that I can’t run for awhile. It’s been killing me not being able to workout. There are days where I can barely get myself to class I’m limping so bad. I have anti-inflammatory meds that were prescribed to me, but I think that I have to make an appointment with a physical therapist because there’s obviously something that I’m not doing that I need to be doing.

So, on the morning of September 18th, I will be walking in the 5K race with my mom. She was planning on doing it while I ran my race, and this way we both still get what we paid for. Technically I have until the 17th to make up my mind, but I’m not expecting any huge transformation to occur in the next week .

There’s always next year, right? So, the plan as of right now is to drop down to the 5K walk instead of running the half, and then to run the half for real in September 2012 and my first marathon in 2013 (hopefully April if the race I have in mind is still around at that time).

Sorry for my complete lack of posts, but my classes have completely taken over my life and I simply don’t have the time to take pictures and write posts anymore. I hardly have time to get to the gym or take a yoga class as it is.

My life is going through some major changes right now, and most of them aren’t happy. There are some new health issues happening in my family as of late and that requires 100% of my energy and dedication. I know you will all understand.

In the meantime, if you really miss me, continue to read my articles over at College Lifestyles. It’s not nearly the same kind of thing that I do around here, but at least you’ll know that I’m still in existence.

3 thoughts on “Heavy Heart

  1. I am so sorry and I can definitely relate. Just a week before my half marathon in May I suffered a stress fracture of the tibia. I was so bummed and it took a long time for me to accept it. When you’ve worked so hard, and trained so hard for something, and then not to be able to do it, is heart breaking. But as I had to remind myself, (daily, sometimes hourly) this too shall pass and it was best I rest it and heal and look forward to future races.

    Stay positive. Sending you lots of positive thoughts & energy for all the things going on right now. Darlene

Leave a Reply

