The Hardest Post I’ve Ever Written

In case you haven’t noticed, other than my posts for my College Lifestyles internship, I haven’t really been around the blogging world lately.

Fall semester started here at Michigan State and, while I’m only taking 14 credits, it has been a ton of work. I’m taking Gross Human Anatomy (lots of memorization), Biochemistry (which I actually like since I’m a huge biology nerd), Foodservice Operations (boring, boring, boring, no one really likes this class since NO ONE wants to go into foodservice), and Community Nutrition (will be interesting but we have a lot of projects to do). Also, I’m still working 10+ hours/week at my job.

I’m continuing to workout, over doing homework early and extra sleep, because that is a priority for me. I’m even more motivated to workout now since I haven’t been able to run for over 3 weeks now. Although, I finally made an appointment to see a physical therapist next week. Anti-inflammatory meds help to a small degree, but I thought it was time that I saw a pro to see if there was anything else that I should be doing.

Anyways, now I come to the biggest source of stress and the main reason I haven’t felt like writing on the blog lately. And it’s also the reason behind the title of the post…

We have recently learned that my mother has been diagnosed with breast cancer. We don’t know too much at this point, but my mom is scheduled for surgery (a lumpectomy) on September 19, the day after we’re going to walk in a 5K together. She’ll be out of commission for an entire week, and I have no idea how I’m going to be able to help her with me being away from home now and on campus from 8am-7pm most days and no car. I plan on calling in a lot of favors that week.

The day of her surgery we’ll find out of she needs chemo, but if it does come down to that, there’s something about her cancer cells having estrogen receptors so they would probably be fairly receptive to chemo treatments currently on the market, like Tamoxifen.

So, for the foreseeable future, I won’t be posting, unless it’s a health update or a scheduled post about my new College Lifestyle articles. If you’re friends with me on Facebook, you’ll probably receive a lot more information, and you can always message me to find out how I’m doing. I’m on Twitter a fair amount less, but still post from time to time and more than I post on the blog. If you @ me I’ll probably get back to you within a day.

Be well, everyone!

8 thoughts on “The Hardest Post I’ve Ever Written

    • I wish I had better genetics going for me. 2 grandparents died from cancer and 2 from heart disease/emphysema and 1 had osteoporosis. Also, my dad has primary biliary disease and my mom used to have gestational diabetes with an aunt who might have RA. Then there’s me with IBS. 😛 Hoping a good diet and exercise will stave off most of these for me.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this Ellen. Your love for your mother is evident from this post and I hope you let her know that you love her every day. There is proven evidence that people who are happy and loved recover from cancer faster. I have faith in you both.
    best wishes, we will miss you in the blogging community!
    Hannah@mindrunningwild

  2. So sorry to hear, Ellen. Finding out about my dads cancer was one of the hardest moments of my life! He fought through it, though, and came out the other end. I KNOW that your mom will do! Don’t blame yourself or feel badly that you can’t be there for her that week, she knows that you love her and are doing everything you can.

  3. Hi, Ellen. I just found your blog for the first time, so I know you don’t know me, but I just wanted to say hello. About 10 months ago, my mom was diagnosed with stage IV colon cancer, and so far has had one surgery and is undergoing her second six-month round of chemotherapy. I’m 20, too, and I know how terribly scary it is when you hear news like that, and it’s something you can’t understand until it happens to you. I hope and pray that your mom does not need chemo, and that if she does, it goes quickly and as comfortably as possible for her and for you.
    It’s a pretty crappy time, but my mom and I are determined to kick cancer’s ass–and you guys will, too! Soon enough it will all be just a bad memory. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

