MIA

Hey everyone!

I’ve been MIA, as you all probably noticed.

My mom had her surgery to get the tumor removed this past Monday. The lymph nodes came back clean so we’re pretty sure the cancer was localized and she won’t need chemo. YAY x 1,000,000!

Mom and I before the 5K race that we walked this past weekend. The day before her surgery.

She’s been staying at home all week recuperating, but she’s doing really well except for being in a little pain. I think that she’ll be happy to get back to work next week. She’s going a little stir-crazy.

Tons of people at the 5K starting line.

Anyways, I’ve been super busy with my classes and have a bunch of projects and exams that I’m working on and studying for (what seems like) all the time.

I’m 25% of the way through this semester already. Can you believe it?! Cray-cray to the extreme.

Only slightly gumpy finish line photo.

Anyways, there won’t be a College Lifestyles article post today because…

I’m flying to California today to attend FNCE!

FNCE is the Food and Nutrition Convention and Expo put on by the American Dietetics Association (ADA) each year and this year it’s in San Diego. I’m so excited. Scared, because it’ll be my first time travelling completely on my own and I’m not really sure what’s expected of me at the convention, but I know that this will be a good experience for me.

I’m most excited about the expo. I can’t wait to see all the new products that are going to be coming to the market and I have some big plans in the works to what booths I really want to make sure that I hit up.

If you follow me on Twitter, you might know one of them 🙂

I’ll be sure to come back with tons of pictures and news to share. Promise.

Have a nice weekend, everyone!

6 thoughts on “MIA

  1. That’s so awesome about your mom! I hope she has a very quick recovery 🙂

    And honestly, don’t worry about traveling on your own – I started flying by myself when I was 15, and now tend to travel all by my lonesome most of the time (I’m 18). I was a bit anxious for the first trip too, but I actually find it way easier than going with other people. Good luck!

  2. I’m so happy to hear your mom is doing well! That’s such a relief and I can only imagine how thrilled you are.

    I want lots of pictures and heavy details about the conference!! I’m looking forward to next year’s; at least I think / hope I’ll get to go then. 😛

  3. I am SO HAPPY that your mom is doing well! That is great news. I am loving the picture of you both crossing the finish line — you look elated! Hope you are enjoying FNCE!

Leave a Reply

