Take Me To The Greek

 

Before I get to the other stuff, my mother was diagnosed with Stage 2 Breast Cancer a few weeks ago. She will be starting treatment soon. At the end of this month I will be participating in the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk. PLEASE consider making a donation to me/my team. No matter what you can provide, every little bit makes a difference. My mother’s birthday was this past Monday, October 3. She just turned 55. Help us fight and help us celebrate more birthdays.

Thanks so much for all of your comments on my post last week. It was a really hard decision to make, but I think the hardest part was telling my mom and boyfriend. Not that they’d think any less of me of course, but because they’ve always been so accommodating to me and my dietary philosophies and choices. I gave them my reasons why and they agreed that this is probably the best thing that I could be doing right now.

But back to that in a second. First, some of you asked to see some of the goodies that I got at the FNCE expo. Here are some pictures, but note that this is not even half of what I got. I ate a good part of the freebies when I was stuck traveling for 11ish hours and have been making my way through the rest by giving them to family and friends or eating a little here and there. But, here’s what I managed to snap a picture of before I noshed on it!

Drinks: Hemp protein powders, flavanoid drink mixes, Cytomax, Crystal Light Pure, Tea mixes, SupraFiber mix, Lipton green tea bags, Probiotic/Prebiotic mixses, Bazi All Natural energy shot, Guayaki Yerba mate organic energy shot

Haven’t been a big fan with the drinks so far. I wasn’t a big fan of the hemp protein powders and the flavanoid mixes are just okay.

Bars:PureFit protein bars, TrueBar, mini Larabars, Soyjoy bars, PowerBar Pure & Simple, Clif Kid Crispy Z Bar, mini LunaBar, KIND bars

The bars, however, I have been completely loving on. The PureFit bars are vegan and gluten-free. The taste, if you aren’t used to it, might turn you off. It uses soy protein isolate and the texture and flavor really reminded me of my old Genisoy vanilla soy protein powder that I used to use.

The TrueBars are AMAZING! They’re made by Bakery On Main and so are gluten free and also vegan! I had the Walnut Cappuccino (heaven!) and the Raspberry Chocolate Almond. If you can find these, get them! The rest I had had before and y’all know how much I LOVE the entire ClifBar company and it’s sister products (LUNA and Clif Kid).

Super attractive post-workout face and hair. And, no, I do not have gum in my mouth... that is actually my tooth, haha.

Then there is my newest prized possession. An autographed copy of Bob Harper’s new Beginner’s Weight Loss workout DVD. I have yet to try it, since my apartment is super small and I’ve been digging my current workout routine pretty hard lately, but I’ll be sure to do a review once I finally stick this baby in to my laptop.

Getting back to business…

This past week I decided to try and start incorporating high-quality protein products into my previously vegan diet to see how my body, and especially my IBS, would react. I’m only introducing ONE product at a time so that I can be sure what my body is accepting or not. So, this week, I decided to start with Greek yogurt. Now, I’ve had Greek yogurt before. I ate it all the time as a vegetarian (which I still am!).

I bought a pint of plain Chobani (due to the higher protein count and lower sugars that you don’t get with the flavored varieties) and I’m ecstatic to say that it’s doing my body good. No adverse effects so I’m going to keep eating it! I think I’m going to try the cottage cheese next and then eggs are up on the menu for the week after. Though, does anyone else think that plain Greek yogurt tastes like cream cheese? I haven’t had cream cheese in years but I do recall it tasting like this, haha.

So, how have I been using it? Well let me show you!

Mixed with cinnamon and Stevia.

Atop oatbran mixed with Life's Basics Vanilla protein powder.

On Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal with sliced bananas, maple syrup, and almond milk.

All were great, but I especially liked it with my new Life’s Basics protein powder and oat bran.

On another note, I only have 3 more workouts left until I’m finished with Stage 1 of The New Rules of Lifting for Women. When I’m done, I plan on doing a full review of Stage 1, what I’ve learned from reading the book, my progress, and I am actually going to *gulp* post a PICTURE of myself as a part of that. I don’t have any “before” pictures to show you, but I think it will still be a good visual for how far I’ve come strength-wise in the past few weeks. Have I mentioned yet how much I love lifting? I have? Well, I’m saying it again. I LOVE IT!

The picture will also serve as a good way to compare how I look/feel at the completion of each proceeding stage. This is a SIX MONTH program and I’ve been doing it for about 1 month now. I’m sure that big changes will continue to be on the horizon. I also will not be posting any measurements because, well, I didn’t even think to take those when I started, nor do I think that, even if I did think to do them, that I’d do them correctly. I’ve already learned so much in my Nutrition classes on the many, many sources of error that come with measurement taking. Plus, I think that you can tell a lot more from a visual than a number just by itself, don’t you?

Don’t forget to enter my NuNaturals Giveaway! Contest ends at 11:59:59 THIS FRIDAY!

11 thoughts on “Take Me To The Greek

  1. 1.I know I am new here and we dont know each other that well but I have been fallowing you on twitter and silently reading your blog and I just want to say that I sympathize with you on the diet changes and fully support you on that recently, I had to conpletely change my diet to all gluten-free and dairy-free (infact I posted about that today) because of some health problems that I have been having. And I know how hard it can be.

    2.Those, goodies look very yummy! I wanna to eat them right off your blog! Are they dairy free too? And I have never had Chobani is it good? It looks very good! I would love to try it but I dont think I can with my new gluten free-airy free diet! d

    3.I am excited to read both your workout reviews because I have been trying to see what new workout videos/routines I can adopt and use. I hae yet to find a great one that works for me.

  2. Peanut butter in plain greek yogurt gives it a nice flavor as well. Sometimes I put yogurt IN oatmeal, but never on top…will have to try that.

  3. SOYJOY bars are gluten free and made with ground whole soy so you don’t get that gritty taste you find with soy protein isolate.

  4. I have never thought of mixing greek yogurt with cinnamon. I am so going to have to do that and put it on my oats. Yum idea. Bob Harper. LOVE him. Jealous of your DVD and bar collection

  5. I’m so happy the greek yogurt worked out for you! It’s definitely one of my favorite protein sources, if not my very favorite. I can definitely see how it tastes like cream cheese, but just wait until you have the cottage cheese – it’s even more like cream cheese in my opinion!

  6. My thoughts and prayers go out to your mom. She must feel so blessed to have a daughter like you to support her through this time.

    p.s. I also thought that chobani reminded me of cream cheese! Especially the pineapple flavor 🙂

Leave a Reply

