Coming In To Port

It’s that time of the week again! Sing it loud and sing it proud!

If you know me, you know that I don’t really do the “true” spirit of WIAW. Since I post so little, mine is usually an amalgam of pictures from the week (i.e. since the last WIAW). Unless I’m on break, college life is just too hectic for me to actually shoot a real full day’s worth of eats. I don’t get a break over here until Thanksgiving, people! It’s only been 7.5 weeks into the semester (out of a total of 16) and I am completely shot. Anyways, don’t expect to see a REAL, BONAFIDE WIAW until probably mid-December. Thanks for reading anyways in the mean time mah peeps!

Anyway, on to the good stuff: the pictures! Here are a few of the things that I’ve really been in to this week:

Oats with Life's Basics protein powder, cinnamon, and Chobani.

I can’t wait for next week when I get to show you all the pictures that I will take at the wedding I’m going to this weekend. Isn’t wedding cake just always the greatest, most delicious cake in the world? I think so. PLUS I’ve been promised candy corn at the reception. Girlfriend has been craving some like none other since I saw bags of it at the grocery store last weekend. I would have bought some myself, but the silly employees didn’t put a price anywhere on it. I have a policy against purchasing something that I don’t know the price of. #sorryimnotsorry

Salad beasts. Romaine lettuce or California veggies, cucumber, salsa or tomato sauce, egg, whole wheat Israeli couscous (ginormous!)

Today (Wednesday) I am bringing my mom to the hospital so that she can get her port for the chemotherapy treatments which begin this Friday. If you’re new to my blog, my mom was diagnosed with Stage II Breast Cancer last month. She is 55 years young.

Later this month, on October 29th, I will be participating in a local Making Strides Against Breast Cancer 5K walk with a friend who lost her mother (my old youth group leader) to breast cancer in 2009. Breast cancer has always been a presence in my life since my grandma on my dad’s side struggled through it multiple times and it was what ultimately took her away from us in 2009 as well.

On another note… Remember everyone that this week is Fat Talk Free Week. Change the conversationIn 2004 and 2005 a study done by Harvard University asked women how they perceived themselves. When asked if they considered themselves beautiful, only 2% said yes. That is only 64 out of 3,200 women.

Now, I know that I’m not perfect, nor do I have the body of my dreams. But, it is alive. It is strong. It is healthy (we’re just going to ignore my IBS, okay?). It carries me from place to place. It holds my intelligent brain and my caring heart. It can reach out for hugs and has two shoulders for others to cry on. THAT is my body, and for that I am grateful.

9 thoughts on “Coming In To Port

  1. Wow. I love not only your delicious salads….but the idea of of Fat Talk Free week! When I was in college, I don’t think that this was a philanthropy and/or event, but I love it. It is so important to embrace ourselves as we are…something VERY hard to do for sure.

  2. What a great outlook you have about your body. You’ve come so far and I value that.
    Best of luck for your mother, I’m keeping you both in my thoughts.
    in the mean time, keep doing those salads! YUM

  3. This couscous looks amazing – never seen the whole wheat version. but from now on I will have an open eye.

    And I think loving yourself should be one of the easiest things to do. Its a shame that so many women are just searching for flaws and never see how beautiful, lovely and precious they are.

  4. Good for you for loving your body, that is awesome! 🙂

    Sometimes we don’t realize how luck we are to be able to walk/run/jump/think/learn/see/hear. Best of luck to your mother.

    Whitney

Leave a Reply

