What Did You DO!?

Whelp… I said I’d do it… and I did it…

I registered for my first ever MARATHON!

8+ weeks after I originally injured my hamstring and weeks of Physical Therapy later, and I have been given the okay to run again, and that I have! Mostly on the treadmill, and not very far or for very long, but I have been and loving every minute of it. (According to my PT, 8 weeks is pretty standard for a hamstring injury, hooray for being on schedule?)

Since I have been relatively pain free and keeping very close attention to the way that my body feels during and after runs, as well as when performing daily tasks like walking around campus during the week for classes, I made the promise to myself to redeem my missed half marathon, which I was scheduled to run back in September but had to drop out of due to the injury.

I selected the Lansing Marathon in April 2012 because it is local, and so I am familiar with the area and the weather conditions. I’m a little nervous that this is the first year that this particular marathon is being put on, but I have met with the race director and he seems very knowledgeable and competent to put on an amazing race. This should get a fairly good draw since the course is relatively flat and it will be a Boston-qualifying eligible course. Also, since it is in late April the weather should not be too cold or too hot/humid yet.

I’ve run 13 miles before. I know that I can do that. This is completely new and exciting territory that I can’t wait to dive in to. But, I’ll have to wait a little while since my training won’t begin until for another 1.5-2 more months. I’ll be following an 18-week training plan based on my viewing of Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 level training plan, several Runner’s World articles and continuing to progress through NROLFW for cross/strength training. While I have already entered all of these workouts into my calendar up until race day, you best believe that I’m open to editing my plan if my life needs it or the current plan is not working for me.

Now that I finally have that off of my chest and out onto the Internets, it’s time for me to go back to studying and writing papers. Only 5 more weeks of classes and 1 week of finals stand between me and the end of the semester!

What is your marathon training advice for me?

Do you follow a plan or go with the flow?

What races to people already have on the books for 2012? Any chance of one of you guys running this race, too?

4 thoughts on “What Did You DO!?

  1. Congrates!!! You will do awesome!!! I am happy for you! btw are you doing NROLFW? I am confused on the first workout like stage 1, are the workouts really short or is it just me? Or am I reading it wrong?

    • I am doing NROLFW. For me, Stage 1 took between 20-30 minutes (depending on if there were 2 or 3 sets and if I had to reference the book a lot or not). These are not very long, but they will take longer in the later stages. I’m usually in and out of the gym in an hour since I do a 10 minute warm-up with cardio and cool down with 10 minutes of less high-intensity cardio as well. You can always check out my DailyMile records if you want to see how long things took me!

  2. Congrats! I never new Lansing was going to start a marathon! I live in Grand rapids….. so
    far for next year I will run the Riverbank 25k in early May and possibly the Bayshore Marathon a few weeks later in Traverse City. Maybe. 😉
    Advice for your marathon? Hmmm– enjoy the journey! It will be more fun and less stressful that way!

Leave a Reply

