NROLFW – Stage 3 Recap

Stage 3


Check out the Stage 1 recap here and the Stage 2 recap here.

Stage 3 is the same length as Stage 2. 8 workouts total taking about 3 weeks.

The major differences were: 3 sets of 6 vs. 2 sets of 10; resting 105 seconds between sets vs. 75 seconds; and different exercises (for the most part).

Also, in this stage, the A workouts included a hardcore Body Weight matrix:

24 squats; 12 lunges (each leg); 12 lunge jumps (each leg); 24 squat jumps as fast as you can. Rest for twice as long as it took you to do them, and then repeat. When I first started stage 3 it took me 3:17 to complete ONE circuit, by the end of the stage it only took me 1:32. I cut my time by half and then some!

You also continue to do interval training runs (1 minute hard, 2 minutes easy) in the B workouts but move up in intensity/speed. At the end of Stage 2, the last interval ended up being 1.07 miles in 15 minutes with a top speed of 7.5mph. The last interval for Stage 3 ended up being 1.44 miles in 15 minutes and a top speed of 8mph. How crazy is that!? Maybe for some people that isn’t so fast, but for me it took some intense focus

As far as my body goes, I’ve definitely noticed more strength and muscle in my arms and back.

As always, excuse the post-workout ratty hair.

And, yes, that would be a picture of my new tattoo that I got on Friday. It says “vici” – as in Latin for “I conquered/I overcame“. I can’t think of a better word to describe everything that I’ve been through and all that I’ve done to change the person who I was. I will continue to conquer. I will continue to overcome.

I started the first workout of Stage 4 today and it includes all exercises that were introduced in the first three stages, which I think is fabulous since you can directly compare how far you’ve come in between stages.

For anyone curious as to what kind of facilities I work with over here, here’s a little picture that I snapped with my phone this morning (empty because of the snow storm that hit last night).

As you can see, it’s nothing fancy. Mostly cardio machines and a few weight machines (only 1 of each though). I wish that we had more than one set of free weights though, since if someone is using a pair of dumbbells there isn’t another pair of the same weight that you can use. Also, we only have one bench press. So, if there’s guys there I pretty much have to stand and wait so that I can use the barbells for a few minutes.

But, you get what you pay for. I don’t belong to a big chain gym like Gold’s or Snap Fitness. My gym is in a community center that is right next door to my apartment. Since I don’t have a car yet, this was the best option that I have and I’ll live with it for the year membership that I bought.

Can’t wait to finish Stage 4 and give you some really great strength and fitness comparisons!

4 thoughts on “NROLFW – Stage 3 Recap

  1. Dang girl you looks awesome and totally ripped!! Keep up the great work! You’re gonna own stage 4 😀 ps– love the tattoo and the meaning behind it!

  2. I wish there were some way I could this plan or Jamie Eason’s plan at home without a gym.

    Do you know of any plan (strength-training 3-4x per week) that would effectively help a person gain lean muscle and strength at home (without a gym). I might be able to afford a pair of dumbbells, but that’s it 🙂

    • You could try Jillian Michaels DVDs, but if you aren’t able to get more than 1 pair of dumbbells I don’t really know what else to do, especially since your muscles can lift different weights depending on if they are large/small. Trying Googling body weight exercises, but I don’t know of any PROGRAMS per se.

Leave a Reply

