Pumpkin Protein Bars & Protein FUNgus

When it comes I wanna wail “WHATIATEWEDNESDAYTUESDAY!”

The fall semester is winding down. I only have 2 more days of classes and then a week of finals until I’m free of academic obligations for a few weeks. So, let’s get started, shall we?

I am still following the Live Fit diet plan outlined by Jamie Eason, since I find that it helps me to eat clean and keep on track while still getting enough of my macronutrients (proteins, carbohydrates, and fats) and sufficient calories to keep me going through the day, especially now around the holidays where less-than-ideally-healthy food items are everywhere.

Meal #1 (6:30am):

Oatmeal with flaxseed and ON Gold Standard 100% Casein Chocolate Peanut Butter protein powder.

Biochemistry Exam (8:00am-8:30am):

Yay! Only an hour of Biochem today instead of 2 since we had an exam (yes, an exam a week before the final, wth?) and no lecture afterwards for once. And, yeah, I take exams really fast. I’m usually among the first ones done. Not to say that I get 100% on my exams, I’m just fast and try not to fret if I don’t know an answer. If I know, I know. If I don’t, I eliminate the ones I know are wrong and take a best guess. No use getting caught up in something you can’t control. So you didn’t study enough or enough of the right material. Que sera sera.

Meal #2 (9:30am):

Pumpkin Protein Bars.

(Based on the recipe from Bodybuilding.com):

1/2 C Xylitol Brown Sugar Blend (Ideal)
1/2 C No Sugar Added applesauce
1 T ground cinnamon
1 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 t vanilla extract
4 large egg whites (3/4 c liquid egg whites)
1 – 15 oz. can of raw pumpkin
2 C oat flour
2 scoops vanilla whey protein
1/2 c almond milk

Preheat oven to 350deg F. Spray a 9″ x 13″ dish with non-stick spray.
Combine first 11 ingredients (through pumpkin) and mix well. Add the final 3 ingredients, and mix until incorporated.
Spread batter into dish and bake for 30 minutes.

Nutritional Info: 1/16 = 70.5kcal, 5.55g pro, 12g CHO, 1.05g fat

And they taste and smell amazing. I like to put a little maple syrup (sugar-free, because I don’t like the taste of real maple syrup) on top and eat them with a fork since I take them out a little bit undercooked #dontjudge

Workout (10:00am-11:00am):

Cross-training day. For once the ONE normal bike in my gym was available, so you better believe that I snatched that baby up right quick. 1 hour on the bike amounting to just under 15.4 miles. Not bad! I got in lots of quality reading time. I’m currently reading The Count of Monte Cristo and Marathoning for Mortals. I’m hoping to finish MfM soon and join in for the PB Fingers December Book Club.

Post-Workout (11:30am):

How SWEET it is.

Sweet potato! The ultimate refuel food.

Meal #3 (12:30pm):

Quorn Turk'y Burger and mixed veggies with balsamic and nooch.

I’m really becoming a fan of the Quorn products. They taste pretty good and I’m a fan of the stats of the products that I’ve bought so far. THey don’t contain meat or soy, but instead utilize (mostly) mycoprotein. Mycoprotein comes from a fungi, interestingly enough. It’s naturally low in fat and calories, but high in protein. It even has all of the essential amino acids that you’d find in meat! Check it out some time.

Foodservice Operations, Meal #4 (3:00pm-4:20pm):

Cottage cheese + Butterscotch pudding mix.

DULL. Not much to report here. Munched on some cottage cheese mixed with butterscotch pudding mix as a snack while I entertained myself with Pinterest, Bodybuilding.com forums, and Facebook. Sounded good in theory, but I think I added way too much mix because it was almost sickeningly sweet. Also, side note, pudding mix gets everywhere. In closing the packet (since I obviously didn’t use all of the mix) I think I lost half of it to my counter.

“Studying” (4:30pm-6:30pm):

OK, let’s face it. When I study it’s more like study for 5-10 minutes and then take a 5-10 minute break. Today, I went through some Anatomy flashcards, looked through some Anatomy powerpoints, and wrote out and sent back my “Semester Reflections” for my College Lifestyles internship waited for the dang plumbers to fix our toilet for over an hour and got no work done because of all the noise they were making.

Ate a packet of almonds somewhere in there. Did you know that Blue Diamond makes 100 calorie packs of almonds? Perfect for those who find it hard to keep control around salty nuts (right Chelsey?)

Meal #5 (6:30pm):

Cinnamon-Raisin bagel, Shrimp + Broccoli with cheddar cheese sauce

Bought the tail-on shrimp by accident. Ugh. That’s what I get for trying to get my grocery shopping done as fast as possible. I don’t completely read the labels! I figured, hey, this is the same color as the last bag I bought so it must be the same. Wrong!

Studying (7:00pm-9:30pm):

More studying. Study. Study. Study. Or, you know, learning the material for the first time when the final is in a week. That too.

Meal #6 (9:30pm):

Probably an egg mug. I have to say, I really look forward to my nightly egg mugs. Eggs + ketchup = best combo ever for eternity and beyond. I pretty much have to stop myself from eating eggs earlier in the day just in case I start to get sick of them, haha.

When are your finals? – Next week!

How do you like to eat your eggs? – With ketchup or salsa.

14 thoughts on “Pumpkin Protein Bars & Protein FUNgus

  1. I swear, we must’ve been separated at birth. Our eats are SO alike it’s weird!! And I totally agree, sweet potato is the best post workout fuel EVA 😀
    Love that cottage cheese butterscotch pudding idea, I’ll have to give that a whirl one day for sure.
    Best of luck studying and happy WIAW!

  2. I usually eat whole eggs. How do you make a microwave egg?
    I have some questions because I really enjoy this post.

    1) I’m impressed by your eats. Would such a routine be suitable for a person who does no cardio (I only enjoy walking)?

    2) How do you make those oats (exact portions? microwave or kettle? powder in while cooking or after? I have terrible bouts with constipation and worry that morning grains will not respond kindly to me. Do you know of anything that would work to help improve this? I have experimented with things and have no luck and it makes for a lousy way to start the day.

    3) I’m not sure if a brown rice or pea protein would be better than a whey? Have you found one to work better with your stomach? (If I do whey, I try to get only the 100% whey isolate since I’ve heard that whey concentrate can be harsher on the stomach).

    4) Do those protein bars require the sugar? I don’t have any here (other than single packs of stevia).

    5) Is it (and how) possible to get 2200 calories this way? My friend loves this eating style but feels she needs those calories and she struggles with keeping it balanced but higher.

    And lastly, Ive never seen Quorn and that’s too bad. Most veggie burgers I see are soy-based and I already consume tofu 2-3 times per week , so hesitate to buy other soy-based ones. I have seen the sunshine burgers which look great, but their based on brown rice and sunflower seeds and I eat far too many nuts and nut butters as it is (in fact, that maybe be a detriment to my stomach also).

    I”ve experimented with so much to try to fix my digestion problems and am seeking some other experiences to at least continue my hope that I can solve it. I

    I definitely eat a lot of fruit too – I bet raisins and pineapple would be good in your cottage cheese snack. I also enjoy frozen grapes!

    I really admire you. I’ve been a lurker and am impressed with your writings.

    • I just put the egg in a big bowl or a mug and microwave for a minute or two (depending on how much egg I’m making). Spray with cooking spray if you want to pop it out before eating it, but I just eat it out of the mug.

      1. I don’t see why it wouldn’t be! Your diet is whatever works best for YOU! I can’t say what will be better for one person vs. another without actually working directly with the person, tracking them, etc. Our bodies are unique 🙂

      2. I make the oats just like it says on the container. Twice as much liquid as oats. So, if you make 1/2 c of (dry) oats, use 1 c water or milk. I use a microwave since I don’t have a lot of time in the morning and don’t like dirtying extra dishes. Oats are whole grains filled with fiber. Fiber is supposed to help with constipation, as does making sure that you drink enough water throughout the day.

      3. I’ve used all 3 in some form or other and all seem fine. Whey is just the easiest to digest and absorb. I use casein at some times and whey at others. Casein at meals (like in my oats) and whey right after a workout (need it in my muscles FAST!)

      4. The recipe is posted right there. You can use actual sugar or a sugar replacement. Tearing open that many stevia packets would probably be a bit annoying (I’ve tried it).

      5. Of course it’s possible! I eat right around 2000kcal+ a day on this sort of diet. Just eat food! If you find that you’re too stuffed to eat more, try a shake. Liquid calories give you calories without the same feeling of fullness as having ate that same amount of calories in solid form. Also, add in calorie-dense foods like natural peanut butter. It’s easier than you think. I never really get too full since my meals are small (better for my IBS/digestion) so I don’t find any problem with it.
      Most of my digestion issues are controlled with medications that I get prescribed from my gastroenterologist.

      I actually don’t eat that much fruit. My taste for it waivers in the winter (I want warm veggies!) and most are pretty high in sugar which I don’t want all the time, only really in the morning or around my workout, but my mom is in love with frozen grapes!

      Thanks for reading!

      • Thank you for the replies. I appreciate it very much. Oats in the microwave (I guess you microwave it with the protien powder in there). I think my 100% whey isolate might make it lumpy. I’ve heard the casein or concentrates mix much better, but I’m relunctant to buy those because I’ve read a lot about their ingredients and I’d prefer the simplicity of the pure whey. But, maybe I’ll try it.

        Its great to know how one can do 2000+ cals on that framework, but I’m still not sure how. I’ve seen some bloggers follow it and I still only get up to 15-1700 on that. I’m having a lot of trouble with trapped gas in my body. My belches go down and into my stomach instead of exiting my body. This creates a great pressure on my chest and a spasming of the ribs. I try to take a daily walk and lately I cannot bear to do that because the stitching-sensation is not nice (I even have this stitching all day long while I sit or lie down or eat or anything). I’ve heard massage and natural aids from naturopaths are very very helpful. But of course I could never afford such things that are so costly. I’m not rich in money and there’s no way I could even consider seeing one of those professionals much less buying their prescribed supplements.

  3. Those protein bars look delicious!! I made similar ones that I Alexandra (Fun Food and Free Weights) made. They are addicting!! I also love cottage cheese with pudding mix. Especially the butterscotch flavor. It’s the best, but I agree – it can be sickeningly sweet!

  4. Oh pumpkin protein bars. How you look so delicious. I think I am going to have to make those for my after finals treat. Now I have something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

