NROLFW – Stage 4 Recap

Stage 4


Check out the Stage 1 recap here, Stage 2 recap here, and Stage 3 recap here.

Stage 4 is the same length as Stages 2 and 3. 8 workouts taking about 3 weeks to complete.

Not much different than Stage 3 except that you don’t learn any new exercises and so go back to exercises that you completed in earlier stages. Also, you do 3 sets of 8 reps instead of 3 sets of 6 reps. Stage 4 is exactly the same as Stage 2 but with more sets and less reps.

Not too bad of progress for only 2 months, right? I’m especially proud of progressing from a 30 degree push-up to a full real and true push-up. Also, I don’t know if it goes without saying, but for some of these exercises the weights listed are what is in ONE hand. So, for instance, in my step-ups it says 25 lb. That means that I’m holding a 25 lb dumbbell in each hand, making it an added 50 lb. If you know the exercises than I’m sure you can figure it out from there.

The interval training runs continue (1 minute hard, 2 minutes easy) in the B workouts but move up in intensity/speed. At the end of Stage 3, the last interval ended up being 1.44 miles in 15 minutes with a top speed of 8.0mph. The last interval for Stage4 ended up being 1.55 miles in 15 minutes and a top speed of 8.0mph. I think that I may actually try to go faster than that in the next stage since it didn’t feel too bad!

As far as my body goes, I’m continuing to see improvement in my arms and back.

VICI betches! Only three more stages left! Back to the body-weight matrices in Stage 5. Let’s hope that I don’t die as badly doing them and I did a month ago. Stage 5 will take me a bit longer to do because the holiday season is screwing up my gym schedule. The disadvantages of belonging to a community center vs. something like a 24-hour fitness center.

Have a happy holidays, everyone!

5 thoughts on “NROLFW – Stage 4 Recap

    • Oh, I LOVE my cardio. I still run over 20 miles a week, and that’s about to go up even more when I start marathon training in January. I’ve found that I actually am not that sore after runs and lifting so I’m never too tired or sluggish to run! It’s amazing to see how much my fitness and strength has improved since I started 3 months ago. It’s so crazy to think that it’s only been THREE months but it’s true!

Leave a Reply

