WIAW{interbreak}

When it comes I wanna wail “WHATIATEWEDNESDAYTUESDAY!”

Welcome to the mystical land of Winter Break-opolis! That fabled land that students everywhere dream about seeing one day but hardly believe in since it is so far away. It’s like Mars. You’ve been told it exists, but have you ever been there? No, no you haven’t.

Meal #1 (7:00am):

Oatmeal with ON Chocolate PB casein powder, flaxseed, blueberries, and SF maple syrup.

Although, the day didn’t start too great when my oatmeal exploded in the microwave. My apartment complex recently installed a new microwave even though we really didn’t need one and it always takes some getting used to new appliances. Getting to know their quirks and the perfect cooking times for things.

Workout (8:00am-9:15am):

Ran for 1 hour. Came out to about 6.8 miles. All while reading The Violets of March. So good! I’ll probably be finishing it on Thursday or Friday.

And guess what came in the mail last week!?

Meal #2 (9:45am):

Homemade Mint Chocolate Protein Bars.

Replenishment! This isn’t even half of what I ate, but I forgot to take a picture before I started eating. I was in a rush since one of my friends was on her way over so that I could go see her horse and we could go shopping after.

Meal #3 (1:00pm):

Brown rice, California veggie mix, chicken, balsamic, and nooch.

After a very successful shopping adventure, I got dropped back off at my apartment and inhaled lunch. Shopping sure does build an appetite!

Meal #4 (3:00pm):

Chocolate Vitatop + baby carrots (not pictured).

Enter: filling out job applications for the summer. I have one in mind that I would die for, but I’m not going to say what it is yet, for what should be obvious reasons, but I’ll let you know how it all turns out! Their website said that it should take about 10 days for them to review my application, but I’m going to give it more time since it is the holiday season after all. I also applied for a local internship. Both of these are huge long shots, but I can’t get them if I don’t try, right?! Both would be dreams come true and amazing opportunities that I know would be worth the work and long hours required of them.

Also enter in ordering my books for next semester. It came out to just over $311; not too bad for college textbooks!

Meal #5 (6:00pm):

Veggies, penne pasta, and "cheese" sauce.

Leftovers from last night. I made some enriched pasta (added protein and omega-3’s!) and tossed it in The Happy Herbivore’s Quick Queso Sauce over veggies.

Quick Queso Sauce
Makes 1 cup

1 c non-dairy milk
1/2 c nutritional yeast
2 T whole-wheat flour
1 t onion powder
1/2 t garlic powder
1/4 t ground cumin
1/4 t paprika
1/4 t chili powder or cayenne
1/4 t salt, or to taste

Whisk all ingredients together in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring often until thick. Serve immediately.

Oh, and have you seen my new Recipage? The link is in the sidebar to the left!

If I made this again, I would definitely make more of it. I made an entire box of pasta just so that I would have something on hand for meals for the boyfriend and I this week. The sauce is delicious! There just probably should have been more of it given the sheer volume of pasta it was supposed to cover.

Meal #6 (8:00pm):

Egg whites + ketchup (not pictured).

By this time I had already received an e-mail back about the internship I had inquired about and I will hopefully be having my interview some time next week! *Fingers crossed* that I’m what they’re looking for!

Edit: Oh, and girlfriend over here made Dean’s List again this semester (at least a 3.50 GPA for the semester).

When do you buy your school books?

Are you on Winter Break yet?

12 thoughts on “WIAW{interbreak}

  1. I should probably start buying my textbooks soon…I tend to put off the painful bill until the last minute!
    Looovvveee the eats, it’s like you took a snapshot of my meals today haha 😉

Leave a Reply

