The Not-So-White Christmas

Saturday, December 24 – Christmas Eve

While I already celebrated several Christmases before Christmas Eve had even hit, my “real” holiday season started Saturday morning with my participation in the ‘Home for the Holidays – Virtual 10K’. Since my gym has very spotty hours for the rest of the year, I was forced to run it old school… outside.

I was a little nervous, since I had not run outside since Thanksgiving Day and it had snowed a tiny bit the night before, but there wasn’t a speck of ice and most of the snow ended up melting by mid-day. Anyway, after breakfast and waiting for the sun to finally make an appearance, I was off into the bitter cold. Okay, 30 degrees isn’t that terrible, but I still lost feeling in my stomach. Yes, my belly went numb, and no place else on my body.

Not bad! Just consider this: I ran in a 10K this past June and it took me 49:08. This took me 51:56 and that is with 3 walking breaks. This makes me feel very good about adopting a run/walk technique when training and competing in my marathon. Simply, I run 1.5 and then walk for a minute. Seems to work for me!

I ran 2 miles out to the far edge of campus and then ran a 1-mile loop a few times and came back. Not terribly exciting, but it didn’t feel too tedious and it let me see part of campus when no one is there.

After the run, I quickly ate and didn’t have time to shower. This was because my mom was on her way over to give me driving lessons. I know, I know. I’m almost 21 and I’ve had my driver’s license for over 4 years, but this was a whole new ball game. We were out to learn how to drive a manual since my “new” car has a stick.

I drove around in a (nearly) abandoned parking lot for about and hour, and the boyfriend was much more successful and only needed about 30 minutes. Darn farm boys. I only got a little frustrated, too! You may laugh, but I have a really big problem with not picking stuff up right away. I get very frustrated and usually end up with angry tears. I found this particularly frustrating because, you know, it’s driving. Other drivers are forced to be on the road with me and I’m scared that I’ll stall out at a stop sign or a traffic light and people will get mad at me. I can switch gears pretty well, it’s just getting going that I have trouble with. Reversing and accelerating from a stop.

Needless to say, I’ll be parking in the farthest possible parking places and driving rather slowly for awhile until I gain more confidence. Hundreds of thousands of people can drive stick, so I know that I can, too. I just wish there wasn’t such a steep learning curve.

Christmas nails! Silver tips. Seriously, my nails are one of my best features.

Other than my lessons and the run, there really wasn’t much more to the day. I started watching all episodes of Community and I have to say that I love this show! Hilarious.

Christmas Eve was spent at my mom’s house. The boyfriend and I both spent the night so that we would wake up at her house on Christmas morning and not have to think about having to get up and around and coming over later in the day. We celebrated Christmas with his family last weekend since his parents went down to Florida to go fishing for Christmas. I don’t think I’ll ever understand that family tradition.

Sunday, December 25 – Christmas Day

Up bright and early as always. Sometimes I really do hate how much my meds dictate my life. I took my meds and ate my oatmeal while my mom and the boy slept. Luckily Love Actually and the internet kept me occupied until they finally got up and about.

Stockings over the fireplace.

I don’t know about you guys, but in this family we have an order to our Christmas mornings. Eat breakfast. Explore stockings. Open presents. Spend rest of the morning playing with our new toys and watching TV. I won $10 this morning off of a $1 scratchcard in my stocking! Total win. I think that this is the first time that I’ve won something off of a scratchcard, too!

Lyle and I got most of the rest of the things that we’ll need in our apartment next year, which is fabulous. It makes for a not very exciting Christmas, but it certainly will help us poor college students have a decent place to live! Also, just a side note, I think that Corelle is pretty much the best dishware ever and I will probably never enjoy any plates or bowls as much as I love my Corelle, and now I have a little set of my own!

Christmas tree.

With the morning’s festivities drawing to a close, we 3 head down to see the rest of my mom’s side of the family, which is essentially just my aunt, uncle, and 2 cousins. Same situation as Thanksgiving. While I consider the rest of the people we go see as family, we aren’t really related and thus I (I can’t speak for my mom) feel a bit left out when we celebrate holidays with them. We weren’t even sure if we were going this year until the last minute since mom had chemo 2 days before and we didn’t know if she would feel well enough for us to go. But, she has been taking all of her treatments very well and we really haven’t run in to any problems so far and I’m pretty sure we’re at the halfway mark!

We head out and got there no problem. No traffic, no nothing. Hooray for good holiday travel! I think that most everyone had a good time, aside from a little drama between 2 of the people there. There were about 25 of us in all I think.

And I was having a very lovely time myself right up until when everyone else was getting their presents. That was when my ever so wonderful IBS decided that it was going to be the worst that it’s been all year. I was doubled over crying, unable to breathe, and making a spectacle of myself in under 5 minutes. I’m not sure how long it lasted, but I’m fairly confident in saying that it was at least half an hour. Then, of course, as soon as I was able to lie down and get some of the gas out I felt better. WTF with this stupid “disease“.

Anyway, once the attack finally passed we went home, proceeded to watch Bridesmaids (love!) and pass out for the night.

Anybody here drive stick? Any suggestions other than to practice for a few hours?

What was your favorite holiday moment this year?

What are you doing for New Year’s Eve?

HAPPY HOLIDAYS EVERYONE!

One thought on “The Not-So-White Christmas

Leave a Reply

