Lansing Marathon Training: Week 2

Lansing Marathon Training

  • Week 2 – This week!
  • Week 1 – (24.12 miles)
  • 14 weeks to go…
Week 2: January 9 – 15, 2012

Monday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:27 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout A

The first of many 6:00am workouts (when my gym opens). Surprisingly, I found that more people are at the gym right when it opens than when I used to go, just an hour later, at 7:00am. NROLFW Stage 6 is mostly upper body work since it’s designed to get you to the point where you can do a full, unassisted pull-up. Can’t wait to see if I can do my first pull-up ever in a few weeks!

Tuesday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:40 avg pace)

My pace was quite a bit slower than yesterday, but my legs still feel very strong and like they could go on for miles and miles. I don’t really have a set speed that I run, I just go with the flow and go faster when I feel like I can and slower if I feel like I can’t sustain it. Next week starts “quality runs” and tempo work, so I will actually be controlling my speed for those, but for now I just kind of dink around and go with the flow. First day of work at my new gym internship this afternoon!

Wednesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:45 avg pace) + 2.61 miles + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout B

First two-a-day. The morning run was terrible. I felt overheated and dehydrated. My face literally was on fire and red for the rest of the day. But, I got ‘er done. My legs themselves felt fine, it was just everything else. Then I lifted weights in the evening and felt a million times better than I did that morning. Strong and fast and quick on my feet.

Thursday: OFF

Homework, reading, and article writing. Catch-up day!

Friday: 6.20 miles (Long Run, 8:45ish avg pace)

I was surprised by how good I felt since I ran right after a 5-hour shift at work during which I worked out with the clients including doing mountain climbers, kettlebell swings, and lots of aerobic and plyometric exercises. I’m still loving my job and the time absolutely flies by. This time I made sure to keep hydrated, fueled, and brought a change of clothes so that I wouldn’t overheat.

Saturday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:21 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout A

Not the greatest of runs. My legs felt great despite the day before, but stomach cramps practically immobilized me for most of this run. lots of walking and slower running was to be had. Luckily, my awesome lifting session right after more than made up for it.

Sunday: Yoga for Runners + 14.52 miles stationary bike (XT)

XT day! I did yoga right when I woke up and then hit the bike once my gym opened up later in the day. I’m really glad today wasn’t a running day, actually, because I felt pretty queasy today for some reason. Also, biking for an hour when you aren’t used to sitting on a bike seat that much will make your butt hurt. Bad.

Reflections

I need to remember to eat and especially to drink water while I’m at work. Two-a-days are possible. Sleepyti.me is the greatest invention ever in that it has helped me wake up at 4am and 5am without any feelings of tiredness. Snow sucks and so does having to break into your frozen car by coming in through the back seat and forcing the front doors open with your uber-strong leg muscles. Less than 100 days left to go! For some reason going from triple to double digits make it seem that much closer.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 2: 23.61
Miles Run – Total: 47.73
Strength Sessions: 3
Yoga Sessions: 1

4 thoughts on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. Nice job on the training girl!!! Seriously awesome.

    Just so you know…there are chinese characters showing up all throughout your post!

Leave a Reply

