Lansing Marathon Training: Week 3

Lansing Marathon Training

  • Week 3 – This week!
  • Week 2 – (23.61 miles)
  • Week 1 – (24.12 miles)
  • 13 weeks to go…
Week 3: January 16 – 22, 2012

Monday: 4.98 miles Track Ladders (Quality Run) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout B

First “quality” run in the training plan. I chose to do track ladders as my first. I ran (7.5-8.0) 200m, 400m, 800m, 400m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 400m, 200m with recovery jogs in between (6.0). With all of the pace switching the time flew by even though I was running for the better part of an hour. No stomach cramping, hurray! I think the switch from oatmeal to oat bran was to blame. Lesson learned.

Tuesday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:48 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout A

Easy/quick day! I’ve decided to shift my lifting days around to hopefully better line up with my schedule. While last week turned out fine, my runs are, of course, going to be getting longer and I don’t know for how long I’ll be able to do it all in the same day. So, the graphics that I post may not match up with what I do exactly. It’s still all of the same ingredients, just in a different order.

Wednesday: 4.00 miles Tempo Run

First tempo run ever and I think (hope) that I did it right. I ran a 1.5 mile warm-up at 6.5 and a 1 mile cool-down at 6.0-6.5 with 1.5 miles in between at 7.2 (moderately-hard effort). This was hard. I don’t know if it’s just the curse of having worked the afternoon/night shift the night before or the fact that we had to do drills during our work meeting right before, but it felt like I was climbing uphill the entire way. Yes, I always set the ‘mill at an incline of 1.0%, but that’s so the pace displayed matches what I’d be running if I were on the road. Still, I remembered to change before my run this time and avoided overheating, yay!

Thursday: 2.20 miles + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout B + Yoga for Runners

Fast and easy! For now (i.e. until I finish the NROLFW program in a few weeks) I will be moving my XT/Yoga day to Thursdays and making Sundays a rest day. Yes, this will probably make my long runs harder, but I’m still allowing over 24 hours for my body to recover from the workout the day before, so at least I’m doing that much. I figure I already have a lot against me by working for 6 hours at the gym before I run my long run each week, but last week felt okay so hopefully tomorrow will feel just as good!

Friday: 7.07 miles (Long Run, 8:54 avg pace)

Got my workout on after work. It was kind of hard since I actually had to be quite a bit active in the workouts for the clients. There was a fair amount of partner work involved, and we had an odd number of people. Guess who got to make up the difference? Yup. But, I got out okay of course even if I am now sore in places a runner really shouldn’t be, haha. I watched Millionaire Matchmaker for an hour and, while I did feel like quitting or at least slowing way down quite a lot, I just kept counting down until it was done. Waking up at 4am for an 11:30am workout is just as hard as it sounds.

Saturday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:58 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout A

I was initially really dreading this workout, since my legs were sore from running and work yesterday, but once I got going the run actually felt pretty easy and light. I lifted afterwards and I’m very proud of the progress that I’ve made in such a short amount of time. I totally dominated those negative chin-ups today.

Sunday: OFF

New rest day for the next few weeks. Reading for classes, doing homework, and writing papers. Oh, the joys. At least the frightful snowy and cold weather makes it easier to want to stay in my warm Snuggie all day. Yes, I do have a Snuggie and I wear it like a robe.

Reflections

Drink more water when you are in classes and during work, not just when you are sitting at your desk doing homework, which is not that often any more. Foam-rolling and lacrosse balls are beautiful, painful things that make you hurt so good. I’m learning more pressure points to hit at work and intend to start incorporating them more in my stretching and rolling routines. Even if you only have 15 minutes to read before you have to go to class or do something else, read. Every little bit helps ease the workload later on. Also, I think that no matter what I do, if I have a long run then I’m going to have GI problems for the rest of the day. It’s happened every Friday for the past 3 weeks and I don’t think that it’s going to change. At least it’s after my run and not before or during, though, right?

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 3: 24.65
Miles Run – Total: 72.38
Strength Sessions: 4
Yoga Sessions: 1

4 thoughts on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 3

  1. good luck on your training!! 13-week will fly by! your GI issues could be related to what you’re eating after your long run…is it any different from what you eat after low mileage runs?
    I hope you’re enjoying your rest day!
    xoxo!

    • I’ve been having this problem for the past year. Since it begins DURING my run (any run 6+ miles long really) I know that it has nothing to do with what I eat after. And I don’t eat right before my runs. It’s just my IBS. Unfortunate, but not enough to make me stop something I love doing.

Leave a Reply

