Lansing Marathon Training: Week 4

Lansing Marathon Training

  • Week 4 – This week!
  • Week 3 – (24.65 miles)
  • Week 2 – (23.61 miles)
  • Week 1 – (24.12 miles)
  • 12 weeks to go…
Week 4: January 23 – 29, 2012

Monday: 5.25 miles Yasso 800’s (Quality Run)

My first time doing Yasso 800’s! This being my first time ever doing them I, of course, did them wrong. Now that I look back I see that I did way too much recovery time (I did 800m recovery jogs instead of 400m recovery jogs). At least I’m figuring this out the first time and not the last, right?! So, while these aren’t true Yassos, it was still quality training. I ran 800m at a 7:48-8:20 pace and then did a recovery jog for 800m at a 10:00 pace. I’ll make sure that I do them right in 2 weeks when they’re on my schedule again!

Tuesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:40 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout B

Light legs! I’m consistently getting surprised by how my legs can feel not-so-great before I run, but once I start running they feel better in no time! Followed up with some lifting that felt really strong. Only two more workouts in Stage 6 and then I’m on to the final stage! I still want to lift throughout my training, but have yet to make a plan yet other than probably lifting on my “easy run” days.

Wednesday: 5.00 miles Tempo Run + 300 Workout

Given that I did a 300 workout right beforehand with the other interns from the gym I work at: 25 KB swings, 25 Goblet squats, 25 Burpees, 25 Jumping Jacks x 3, this run was one of the hardest and the most pressed for time. Tempo runs in and of themselves aren’t very fast since you have to force yourself to go slower during your warm-up and cool-down, amounting to a full 2.5 miles of “slow” running. But, I got it done, I showered, I ate, and I still got to my first class of the day on time… barely. Sometimes I really question my sanity with this whole 2 internships + full-time college student + marathon training thing, but I know that it will all be worth it when 3 of those things are gone by the end of April.

Muffin day in Food Lab. Clearly my group's Lemon Poppyseed muffins were the most popular.

Thursday: 2.20 miles + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout A + Yoga for Runners

My arms were sore from that 300 Workout from the day before, especially my axillary fold (the muscles that form your armpit). But, my legs still felt good and I was still able to power through my lifting session. That probably had something to do with the fact that it was the last “A” workout for Stage 6 and so was much shorter than usual.

Friday: 8.22 miles (Long Run, 9:10 avg pace)

Before my day even really got the chance to start, my IBS started acting up and bothered me all the way through work. People could tell that I wasn’t my usual self and IBS is to thank. I think it happened because I had already eaten half of my breakfast before I realized that I hadn’t taken my morning pills yet. I spent the next 8-ish hours feeling sub-par, but I still ran because I knew that I should and if I didn’t do it right after work it probably wasn’t going to get done. Luckily, us interns got out early today. The run itself was pretty dull. I watched 1.5 episodes of CSI: Miami (although the Las Vegas series is my favorite). I can now say with 100% certainty that my marathon finish line picture is going to be a hot mess. This gal sweats like a hog in a sauna.

Refuel!

Saturday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:50 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 6 Workout B

I thought that I might have had to switch my rest day to today and done this workout on Sunday instead since I went to a party the night before and only got about 3 hours of sleep before I had to get up again to take my meds. But, once I got up and out to the gym I felt pretty good and got in a good run and lifting session. This was the last of the Stage 6 workouts so there’s only one left to go, the “final cut“.

Sunday: OFF

Reflections

Leave your notecards with all of your speed workouts written on them out in the open so that you can look at them at correct yourself immediately and don’t go home and find out that you got the distances wrong. Doing hardcore full-body work like KB swings and KB squats will obviously make the run you do right afterwards much tougher. I don’t like doing yoga. I’m doing it because I’ve done the research and I know that it will at least tip me in the direction of avoiding injury. So, I suck it up for the 25 minutes a week that I have set aside for it.

Take your meds first thing in the morning, before you give yourself the chance to stuff some yummy breakfast in your mouth. Look for an attractive headband to wear that may distract spectators from your sweaty hair at the finish line. Having a 25-lb. plate drop on your foot will hurt and I must be Wolverine because I don’t know how I didn’t break a toe. Yay for hitting the 100-mile mark and being 1/4 of the way through my training already! Wow that first month flew by fast.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 4: 28.07
Miles Run – Total: 100.45
Strength Sessions: 3
Yoga Sessions: 1

4 thoughts on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 4

  1. i dont run anymore (unfortunately)…long story.
    But can I ask why you do all your runs on treadmill? Outdoors and treadmill are different. I find it strange that people run on treadmills.

    • I live in the Midwest and we get big snow in the winter. So, until it warms up and the snow goes away many of us stick to the treadmill, especially since I don’t have any of the special equipment so that I can run on snow/ice and I don’t have any kind of thermal running wear.

      I know that the treadmill and outside are different, but as long as you aren’t running on a 0% incline you can do a pretty good job of trying to replicate outdoors running.

Leave a Reply

