Lansing Marathon Training: Week 5

Lansing Marathon Training

  • Week 5 – This week!
  • Week 4 – (28.07 miles)
  • Week 3 – (24.65 miles)
  • Week 2 – (23.61 miles)
  • Week 1 – (24.12 miles)
  • 11 weeks to go…
Week 5: January 30 – February 5, 2012

Monday: 6.00 miles Track Ladder (Quality Run)

I really like doing track ladders! They go by really fast even though you’re covering a pretty good distance.

I’d been having stomach problems since the day before and through the night even. I have no idea how to explain where this wave of nausea is coming from, but every time I thought that it was letting up it would pop right back up and knock me on my booty. I really can’t explain why I feel like such crud. No fever, so no doctor visit. I took the day off from going to my classes because of the rare chance that I might get sick (though I have not puked since I was 13) or that I’m contagious and don’t know it. Plus, who wants to walk around for miles to get to/from class when they don’t even feel better when they lie down?

Tuesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:36 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 7 Workout 1

Began Stage 7 of NROLFW, the last stage. Hard to believe that I’ve been following this program for almost 5 months now. Stomach issues yesterday were so terrible that I took the day off from all of my classes and even from studying. It was that bad. I still don’t know what happened, but when I woke up this morning I didn’t have any of the nausea that had been gripping me all of the day before, so I decided to tough it out for a workout, classes (I had an exam), and work. I give full credit to my quick recovery to the Edy’s ice-cream I had my mom bring me last night. While the morning went okay, by early afternoon I was back in bed with nausea and sicky-ness. Not okay. Had to skip work.

Wednesday: 5.00 miles Tempo Run

I woke up still queasy (this has now been going on since Friday morning). But, since I had ditched on work the day before I thought it was important to go to our weekly meeting on Wednesday mornings. Luckily, we just watched a video today rather than go through a workout together because I don’t know how well that would have gone over. But, I ran anyway since I’m almost positive all of this nausea is because of my IBS and not an icky bug of some sort. I didn’t feel worse after the run, so I guess that’s good enough for me. I ran 1.5 miles warm-up @ 6.0, then sped it up for the next 2.5 miles @ 6.5-8.0, then slowed it back down to 6.0 for a 1 mile cool-down.

Parking Garage downtown.

Thursday: 2.38 miles stationary bike + NROLFW Stage 7 Workout 2 + Yoga for Runners

XT and Yoga day! XT means doing anything but running. When I’m not running, I opt for the bike. So, I did my lifting warm-up on the stationary bike for 10 minutes. This was one serious lifting session. I don’t remember working this hard while lifting in a while, I guess that’s why it’s called the “final cut”! My arms felt like Jell-O afterwards, but I plugged in my iPod and let the Dubstep music motivate me to complete one hardcore workout. I always debate with myself when to do my yoga, but I decided to just get it out of the way and did it right after lifting.

Friday: 9.01 miles (Long Run, 8:32 avg pace)

My first time running outdoors since, I think, Christmas weekend when I participated in a Virtual 10K run. At first, I was sort of dreading it. While there isn’t any snow on the ground after the rain and 40-50deg weather we had during the week, it was still mighty cold and gloomy when it came time to get my butt moving. Plus, as always, I had worked for 5 hours at the gym right beforehand and did some of the workouts that our clients were performing as well. But, I had a good lunch, waited a little over an hour, then head out the door.

The run itself was pretty uneventful. I followed my usual “run 2 miles, rest 1 minute” pattern, which really helped the time go by since you only have to think in 2 mile increments. My ankle acted a little funky, and so did my quads, but I put that down to all the squats I did at work. Once I got home and stretched, though, my knees really started to cramp up. I’m just hoping that all of my soreness is gone by my workout tomorrow morning! I already know that Sunday’s rest day will be much appreciated by both my body and my brain.

Saturday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:13 avg pace) + NROLFW Stage 7 Workout 3

I woke up pretty sore from work and that awesome run from the day before. But, most of the discomfort in my right ankle and left quad were gone thanks to 9 solid hours of beautiful, glorious sleep. The run itself was uneventful. I just took it slow since I felt a bit beat up from the day before. This lifting session brought me to the halfway mark for Stage 7. This workout had a LOT of deadlifts involved, but this chica can take it. Only 3 more workouts (1 week) to go until I’m completely done with NROLFW!

Sunday: OFF

Reflections

Ice cream will always be my “sick food”. Forget soup, ever since I was little when I got sick that meant that I got ice cream. I have no idea what’s wrong with my body right now, but that GI thing was not a good time and I don’t want it to ever come back. I can’t wait until it gets warmer out so I can start doing more runs outdoors again. I think that it’s time for some new running shoes. The ones I’ve been using probably have about 400-450 miles on them. They are fine for treadmill running, but not for outdoor running. Good thing I already ordered a new pair and they’re ready to get worn next week! Sports drinks will probably continue to be my long run fuel of choice. None of the GI issues like I was having last summer with gels.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 5: 27.41
Miles Run – Total: 127.86
Strength Sessions: 3
Yoga Sessions: 1

Leave a Reply

