Lansing Marathon Training: Week 8

Lansing Marathon Training

  • Week 8 – This week!
  • Week 7 – (33.04 miles)
  • Week 6 – (29.40 miles)
  • Week 5 – (27.41 miles)
  • Week 4 – (28.07 miles)
  • Week 3 – (24.65 miles)
  • Week 2 – (23.61 miles)
  • Week 1 – (24.12 miles)
  • 8 weeks to go…
Week 8: February 20 – February 26, 2012

Monday: 7.08 miles Yasso 800’s (Quality Run)

Awesome! Started out a little rough, but I really fell in to the faster speeds after a while. Running at 7.5 for half a mile is no joke! Definitely could not keep that up for an entire race, but half a mile seems just about perfect for it. Reading an awesome book probably doesn’t hurt either. Big thanks to my best guy friend Dan for getting me to read The Picture of Dorian Gray.  A classic and for good reason. See you again in two weeks, Yassos!

Tuesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:52 avg pace) + Lifting

For some reason I felt really pressed for time this morning, even though I still got home around the same time that I usually do. I seriously make myself sick with unnecessary stress sometimes. The run went well, as most of my easy runs seem to (thankfully living up to their name!). Lifting was heavy on the arms with a little abs and legs thrown in there as well. I’ve been keeping the lifting sessions to about half an hour since I finished NROLFW and just putting together whatever exercises I want to the night before.

Wednesday: 6.00 miles Tempo Run

This was actually probably the best feeling tempo run that I’ve done so far, although that isn’t really saying much. Unfortunately, I had accidentally dropped my water bottle and so I didn’t have any water (or a towel for my massive amounts of sweat). Luckily I was only running for an hour, or else things could have gotten ugly. Then I even forgot to bring water to class right after, so I deem this the day of neverending dehydration.

Carbo loading day before my long run? They were serious about the chocolate chunks!

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 14.00 miles (Long Run, 9:08 avg pace)

PDR! The longest that I’ve run since I did my “half-marathon” training run back in August and hurt myself. And done entirely on the treadmill due to the 5 inches of snow that we got here in Michigan. I took a 1 minute walking/rehydration break every 1.50 miles and I think that it really helped! I was a little worried that it would affect my time too much, but I think that it still all ended up pretty well! I switched up my eating schedule so that I had a light lunch about half an hour before I started and it seemed to go well in terms of my IBS! Not really much in the way of GI issues so I think that I’m going to stick with this new eating schedule (on long run days at least) for the time being.

Saturday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 8:42 avg pace) + Lifting

My legs actually felt really good considering the epic long run the day before and the fact that I spent most of the night before out dancing at a party! I didn’t go right when the gym opens like I usually do because my best friend (who went out with me the night before) spent the night and I of course wasn’t going to leave without seeing her off. Last night was messed up, but fun and I’m happy to have been able to spend time with my best friend. She’s graduating in May so I’m not sure how much we’ll be seeing each other in the future, so I’m trying to stuff in as much time with her as I can I guess! Lifting also went really well and I’m rocking at the 30-minute sessions made up the night before.

Hello, Winter. Thanks for making an appearance now that Spring Break is only a WEEK away. Oh, and for stopping my outdoor long-run plans in its tracks.

Sunday: 15.65 miles stationary bike

Cross training! The gym is always crazy on Sundays. I hate that the gym doesn’t open up until noon on the weekend, it makes competing for the one stationary bike a full out war. I literally come early so that I can be the first one through the door and beeline for the bike. By the time I got off, every single cardio machine was taken. At the same time, not a single soul was in the weight section of the room, so I banged out a few upper-b0dy and core exercises to round out my workout. Finished reading The Picture of Dorian Gray, read a sample of The Abs Diet for Women, and started on I Am America (And So Can You!) (I love Stephen Colbert!).

Reflections

Officially made it past the 200 mile (running) mark! (Both for the year and for training.) Ellen in a rush = a forgetful Ellen. Forgetting flash drives and water all over the place. Not only did I pass the 200 mile mark, but I am now officially half way through my training plan! I can’t believe that there’s less than 2 months to go until my race (and less than 3 until my 21st birthday!).

I’m pretty sure that the only reason that I didn’t eat the entire world after my long run is that I literally have no food left in my apartment by the end of the week. Unintentional good eating strategy? Although, to be honest, if it weren’t for the fact that the weather was so bad I probably would have walked to CVS and picked up some ice-cream or candy or something.

Chocolate milk is also the best tasting thing ever right after a run. Try it some time. I’m looking forward to a tiny bit of a cutback next week, especially in the long run department. Not very much less in terms of total mileage, but it’s enough that I’m excited about it! My eating hasn’t been perfect, but I think that I’ve kept pretty well to my usual 80/20 rule (80% clean eating, 20% “whatever” eating) and my IBS has been much better this week as a result. Hooray! I also went full-fat on the ice-cream this week (no aspertame here!) and didn’t have any problems, so I’m almost positive that the Splenda was to blame.

One more week until Spring Break! Not like I’m going anywhere warm and sunny like normal people. I have never gone on a trip for Spring Break and I probably never will. True, I only have one more year of schooling left, but you catch my drift.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 8: 35.48
Miles Run – Total: 225.78
Strength Sessions: 2

One thought on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 8

  1. SO happy you’re training is going so well! I cannot wait to hear how much ass you kick with your race! its gonna be such a huge accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

