Lansing Marathon Training: Week 12

Lansing Marathon Training

Week 12: March 19 – March 25, 2012

Monday: 7.15 miles Yasso 800s (Quality Run)

Speedwork felt especially difficult this morning, but I pushed myself through to the end. My body refuses to get off of my old schedule from before the time change and it is incredibly frustrating. I’m still waiting for the day that I will just wake up and it’ll be gone. It can happen, right? Anyway, only one more round of Yassos before the race!

Tuesday: 5.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:25 avg pace) + Lifting

Major stomach troubles decided to run over from the night before. No fun. Even as I sit here typing this I’m still feeling funky.  Luckily it was mostly during the run and the lifting went fine, just a bit sweaty, y’all know I have a problem! Right now my lifting is more about keeping the muscle that I gained through NROLFW than about making more gains.

Wednesday: 6.00 miles Tempo Run

I only have time to run up to 6 miles on Wednesdays, so even though there was 7-8 on the schedule, I just did 6 due to time. Uneventful, as usual. I’m wondering if, when I start a new training plan in the fall, I could switch out tempo runs for some other type of workout. Thoughts? Because I really don’t think that I could subject myself to them again after this cycle is over.

"Studying hard" in the library.

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 15.00 miles (Long Run, 8:51 avg pace)

Legs did not feel very strong right from the get-go. I cannot stress how many times on this run that I wanted to just stop and cut it short. One of the few things keeping me going, other than the fact that I’m quite driven to do what I say/plan that I’m going to do, is that it was drizzling out and that’s my favorite kind of weather to run in. I somehow still kept a good pace, so thank goodness for that!

Saturday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:27 avg pace) + Lifting

The first half of the run was pretty slow and uncomfortable because my legs were still a bit sore from the long run the day before, but they seemed to loosen up pretty well for the second half. Yay! The run was followed by weights that was heavy on the upper body.

Sunday: 15.31 miles stationary bike

I really like my Sunday cross-training sessions on the bike, but I don’t think that I will ever be happy or even content with the fact that my gym doesn’t open until noon on Sundays. I don’t even like the 8am opening on Saturdays. I like to workout at 6am, people. Sorry I’m not sorry. Used my new shoes today! More on that in next week’s recap.

Reflections

As much as I liked NROLFW, and now creating whatever kind of lifting workout I want when I want, I’ve already selected a new program to dive into when I’m done with my marathon. I’ll leave it a secret for now, but I’m pretty sure none of you will have heard of it before! I’m pretty excited to share my results with you all and hopefully inspire a few of you to take the program as well. I will say, that I did have to pay for it. Then again, I technically paid for NROLFW, right?

Note to self: Stop forgetting to take my pills AS SOON AS I come in from my long runs. I waited about 30-45 minutes after my run this past week to take my pills and so had already drunk (drank?) my chocolate milk by that point. I’m fairly certain that this is what caused my stomach to be out of sorts for a few hours afterward.

I got new toys in the mail this week! My very own foam roller, a digital food scale (won from a giveaway), and a pair of black and pink Vibrams! Best of all? I didn’t have to pay for any of it! Major win.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 12: 37.55
Miles Run – Total: 375.60
Strength Sessions: 2

One thought on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 12

Leave a Reply

