Lansing Marathon Training: Week 13

Lansing Marathon Training

Week 13: March 26 – April 1, 2012

Monday: 6.89 miles Track Ladders (Quality Run)

Not quite 7, but I ran out of time and it’s close enough, right? That’s what I thought, too. I aim for 7.0 on the 800s, 7.2 for the 400s, 7.4-7.6 for the 200s, and then recover at 6.0 and that tends to work out pretty well for me. If only I had my own programmable treadmill so that I wouldn’t have to switch the speed manually so many times!

Tuesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:09 avg pace) + Lifting + Strength

Nothing really to report, other than I think the running has caught up to my body again. Tired! Good thing this is the hardest week and then it’ll back off for a bit until the race.

I also had to go through a semi-private workout with one of the gym’s clients at work since she was the only one who signed up for that time slot and she didn’t want to work out alone. Double strength workouts for today!

Wednesday: Strength + 6.00 miles Tempo Run

We had to do a strength workout at work this morning, so that wiped me out and forced me to move my run to the evening after my exam rather than in the morning like I prefer to do. It is was it is and I probably could have skipped the run all together. I mean, I have yet to miss a single workout this entire training cycle. In the big picture, 6 miles would not have made a huge difference considering that I’m running some 450-500 miles before I even step up to the starting line!

But, I wanted to do it. I want to follow my plan and I hate taking shortcuts especially when the goal is so important to me. So, I did it. And it was TERRIBLE. GI issues out the wazoo… literally. I had to stop twice to run to the bathroom. But, I’m stubborn; I’m determined; and I HAD to finish what I started.

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 21.00 miles (Long Run) 4.01 miles (Easy Run, 8:42 avg pace)

Switched my days up a bit because the weather was crappy and I felt pretty crappy myself. Something’s going on with my health and I don’t know if it’s something that I should be worrying about. I called my doctors and just have to sit tight I guess and wait for them to schedule me and maybe run some tests just to see that everything is working okay. Well, working like when they saw me last at least.

Saturday: 3.20 miles (Easy Run) + Lifting 21.01 miles (Long Run, 9:43 avg pace)

This was not comfy. Not at all. I had to get this done early because I had a lunch date. So, I was on the streets a good hour and a half before the lazy sun decided to show its face. It was COLD. About 25-30 degrees the entire time. So we have dark, cold, and add on to that my legs were definitely not feeling it and this was a long 3.5 hours. Other than just being tired, my legs felt okay until around mile 9-10, then it was more uncomfortable. Not pain really, but not comfy and not a soreness.

Though, I have to tell you guys, I’m pretty sure every part of my body is aching right now. Abs, armpits, calves, even my face was a little sore if that’s even possible. But, at least there were no GI issues! Seriously, zero. Thank goodness! Although, I did get two blisters on my feet. One was on my pinky toe and I really didn’t even notice, but the other is on the ball of my foot and doesn’t feel too nice now that it’s breathing. My sock was fitting poorly and rubbed it wrong I think.

Sunday: 15.32 miles stationary bike

I was anticipating this to be quite difficult due to the long run being the day before, so I was prepared to have to slow down and/or dial down the resistance (I usually do intervals of 2 minutes @ 9, 2 minutes @ 6). But, it turned out that I didn’t need to modify at all! Really the only things that were uncomfortable were my tushy and my blistered foot. I feel like I hadn’t read in ages, so it was nice to “crack open” the pages of my Kindle for an hour of solid reading.

My new Vibrams!

 

Reflections

Passed the 400-mile mark for the year/training AND my first and only week with a 40+ mileage AND the longest run of the training plan (other than the marathon, of course) under my belt. What a big running achievement week!

Here’s hoping that my race is warmer than my long run was! I just don’t want to have to lug around gloves, ear-warmers, and sweatpants for the race (or have to discard them along the route either). I just ordered a SPIbelt (in polka dot!) so that I can bring my phone with me during the race. My mom, dad, and boyfriend want to see me start and then come back and see me finish and texting is really the only way that I can think to let them know when to come. I have goal times, but who knows how much those times will actually turn out come race time, you know? So, yes, I will probably be texting/tweeting during the race (on my walking breaks), so be sure to tweet me during the race for motivation!

I’m still shooting for, and will completely satisfied, with a 4:00-4:29 finishing time for my marathon in THREE WEEKS. So crazy! I can’t believe that I’m finally in the same month as my race. But, after this week’s long run I am definitely psyched to say that I’m in Taper Town! Population: me.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 13: 42.11
Miles Run – Total: 417.71

Strength Sessions: 3

Leave a Reply

