Lansing Marathon Training: Week 16


Lansing Marathon Training

Week 16: April 16 – April 22, 2012

Monday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, ?:?? avg pace)

Not sure on my pace or total time, since I accidentally pulled the emergency stop when I went to “turn” the page on my Kindle at the 0.55 mile mark. Why does there need to be TWO emergency stop buttons?! But, it was probably around 40 minutes total. Took it nice and even slower than I normally would on an easy run, as I will be doing for all of my runs this week.

Tuesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:45 avg pace) + Lifting

Body is still a bit sore from the weekend, but it’s getting better every day. The run went pretty well until near the end when my left ankle started acting up. I’m a little worried about it because it hasn’t been bothering me this entire training cycle. I suppose I’ll just have to be super conscious of it for the next few days…

Wednesday: 4.20 miles (Easy Run, 9:51 avg pace)

Kept it slow after my weekly morning work meeting. My ankle started acting up in the last mile or so. Luckily, my training schedule (below) already has me resting for the next two days, and I definitely will. Saturday with an easy 1-2 mile run will be the last test. At this point, I’m of course still going to run my race, but Saturday will determine the goal(s) that I will be setting for myself on race day.

Almost to the end of the training calendar!

Thursday: OFF 

Friday: OFF

Saturday: 1.89 miles (Easy Run, 10:00 avg pace)

20 minute shake-out run the day before the race. Ankle felt great! Hamstring was tweaking a bit when I went to the race expo to pick up my race shirt and racing bib, but then again it’s been doing that for 7 or 8 months now (since my injury), so I’m not letting it get to my head too much. As long as I can sit and stand without pain then I know that I’m okay.

Sunday: LANSING MARATHON

Check out my recap post tomorrow to find out how it goes!

Reflections

Yes, I did feel a slight touch of taper madness, but not nearly as much as I was expecting based on how others have presented it as on their blogs and Twitter.

Last minute aches and pains may have me reevaluating my goal(s) for race day, and to be honest I’m perfectly fine with that. I don’t know if I’ll ever run a FULL marathon again (plenty of half marathons in my future though, I’m sure), so I will finish this race even if it means walking across the finish line in 6 hours. Things don’t always go perfectly the way you want.

At least the weather is looking like it’s going to be pretty good too, unlike for all of those who ran Boston this year.

No unseasonable warmth going on here!

Right now I’m just trying to eat right and fingers crossed that my IBS cooperates tomorrow. PLEASE! IBS, you have already interfered with my life twice this past week, you OWE me tomorrow.

Totals:

Miles Run – Week 16: 14.49
Miles Run – Total: 487.68
Strength Sessions: 1

3 thoughts on “Lansing Marathon Training: Week 16

Leave a Reply

