What’s Next? And I Want Your Input!

Race pics are in!

Yeah, I still have no idea how to spot the photographer apparently, but that’s a pretty cool action shot of my finish if I do say so myself! I don’t run… I float.

Anyway, I’m sure a few of you are wondering what I have planned now that the event that I devoted nearly 4 months of my life now has occurred… and I have answers!

I am signed up to run two half marathons in the Fall. Capital City River Run in September (the race that I had to drop out of last year due to injury) and Grand Rapids in October. I was originally planning on making Grand Rapids a full, but honestly I like the half marathon distance and think it’s too soon for me to go for another marathon at this point in my life. I have a LOT going on this fall and wanted something that would be more manageable. Anyway, the most exciting news of all, and a major deciding point on switching from the full to the half is that my boyfriend, who never runs/works out, has signed up to run the half, his very first!

People, this is big. L ran cross country for a year or so in high school and then spent the rest of the time playing football, but since starting college he hasn’t really done much in the way of athletics and moving. I haven’t really pushed the matter, but I have always let it be known that he’s always welcome to join me in the gym and on my training runs. He usually says no, but I kept it up hoping that I could lead by example and that one day he’d come around to it.

Well, today I brought him to the gym that I intern at for Family Fitness Day. I think that the combination of that workout and watching me run Lansing last weekend has finally gotten through to him. L signed up for the half as soon as we got home :-).

I tried my first ever bottle of Kombucha today. I got Guava since one of the guys at the health food store said that it would be a nice, mild choice for a first-timer. It took some getting used to, but it wasn't bad!

But training for CCRR doesn’t start until mid-July. So, what will I be up to until then?

Well, I’ve decided, after a lot of searching, that I will not be doing LiveFit. Maybe some day when I decide that it will be worth it, like if I decide to compete or schedule an actual photo shoot one day, but that’s just not where I am right now. I have read a lot of testimonials by people who feel absolutely terrible doing the program and feel like it puts a lot of strain on their personal and private lives. Now, I know that there ARE people that it has worked for, and I congratulate and admire them, but that’s just not where I am in my life right now.

So, I’ve selected a 12-week program designed by trainer James Wilson. Yes, I actually PAID for this program, and I know that a lot of people like LiveFit because it’s free, but James also offers personal workout, nutrition, and supplement advice as well as support by him and fellow paying members through a private Facebook group. You are only working out 4-5 times a week and usually for no more than an hour. Also, he advocates EATING. And I’m talking REAL eating. LiveFit has many people eating only 1200-1400kcal, even on workout days! That is just ridiculous to me and completely against everything that I’ve work toward over the past year with my eating disorder.

Later this week I will be doing a 24-hour HRM test to see where my rest day calories should be at, but until I know my personal numbers, I’ll be eating 1650 kcal on REST days and 2050 kcal on WORKOUT days (and those are the numbers for fat loss!). Once I get my HRM and get a feel for where my burns are at, those numbers will probably increase since I can personalize my numbers even more. He still advocates a 40/40/20 breakdown of carbs, protein, and fats, which works just fine with me since I’ve sort of been transferring to those kind of proportions ever since I stopped being a vegan. Also, you are still eating 5-6 times a day, which my body depends on now and I’m happy about it!

I’ll be taking my beginning measurements and “before” pictures Sunday afternoon/Monday morning and I’m really excited! Since I already consider myself pretty fit, I’m really excited to see the changes I go through and have high hopes for a lot of definition to come with this program.

The only hard part I really see will be being more “strict” with my eating. I really do want to give this program my 100% (… okay maybe 95% is more realistic) and that may be the thing that holds back my progress the most. While L will be away for the summer, my bestest guy friend will be here as my local support system and fellow transformer. He’s aiming to get back into shape this summer too and trying to lose serious weight.

Anyway, I’m curious the kinds of things you want me to be posting on the blog as I attempt this transformation this summer. And I really want this to be a transformation. I’m talking I want to submit this for contests and things (like this!), which is why adherence will be so important.

Do you guys want progress pictures? How often? What about body measurements? I can’t share the workouts, since I had to pay for the program and so of course this would be unfair to James Wilson if I just gave away his “baby” for free.

Give me your comments and opinions please!

One thought on “What’s Next? And I Want Your Input!

  1. I think it is great that you decided against livefit! Glad to hear someone else thinks its very restrictive! Because I definitely agree! I am all about eating healthy and exercising but…that eating plan is just ridic!!! Its so rigid and strict! the plan you chose sounds much better! I want to learn more about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

