School’s Out… Sort of

I’m finished with my junior year of college! Now, you’d think that that would mean a summer of not studying, sunning, and hanging out with friends. Well, that’s never really been my style.

For me, summers have always had a purpose, whether it be studying for something, working, or earning credits, I just don’t do total breaks.

I’m still a little foggy on what exactly I’m going to be doing this summer, but this is what I hope will happen:

1. Take HNF 400 (class ends at the end of June)
2. Work a data entry position for 1-1.5 months 2-3x a week
3. Study for the GRE and then TAKE said GRE at the end of August
4. (Hopefully) Get a job in foodservice
5. Prep for my DA position in the fall
6. Visit L in New Jersey/New York
7. Celebrate turning 21 somehow
8. Get another tattoo (or two) <– I have a tattoo that I want for myself and I may get a pink ribbon when my mother goes in to get hers
9. Get the apartment set up for when L moves in at the end of August
10. Finish James Wilson’s 12-week program and start training for my half marathon(s)

Looking at it all at once, it kind of seems like a lot, but it really isn’t. At least, not for me. I’m used to being a busy person and I have no idea what to do with my life if I’m not doing anything. You’re looking at the girl who took 4 courses, did 2 internships, and trained for a marathon this semester as well as trying to keep up a healthy social and family life all while still getting adequate sleep. And I think that I did a pretty good job of it, if I do say so myself. Sometimes, you just have to say “I ROCK!”.

Early birthday present from L.

L is leaving for his internship (12 hours away) this weekend. Thank God for Facebook, texting, and web cams. I would never have been able to keep a long-distance relationship up if I lived in the world 100 years ago. It’s also why I admire Army wives (and all variations thereof for the other branches of the military) since I just couldn’t be away from the person that I love that much. As independent as I think that I am, I’m still dependent on a lot of people, especially my mother.

When I move away next year, as I hope to do for my internship, I already am anticipating it to be a difficult transition. Going to a university that’s just 3 miles from my house (and thus my mom) means that, yes, I have gained a little independence, but my mom and dad have always been near in case I fell on my face.

If I get in to my dream internship next year, I will be 22 hours from home and the city that I’ve spent 21 years of my life in. And that is terrifying. Forget the actual program in and of itself, but the distance and the change scares me. I’ve never dealt with change very well and this is one of the biggest changes that I’ve ever had to face in my life. I mean, I’m only 21. There’s no kids or marriages in my life yet or even major purchases like a car or house.

Wow, this post got touchy-feely pretty quick there. Where was I? Oh yeah, summer. I have a full week off next week and then my HNF 400 classes begin and will run through the end of June. I should also know next week if I got the data entry position that I interviewed for and I’ll be interviewing for a foodservice position on Monday as well.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “School’s Out… Sort of

  1. I can totally relate to the distance and change being scary. I got married when I was 19 and moved to Alaska (from Oklahoma) 3 days later. Craziest/scariest but BEST decision I ever made 😀

    • Growth only occurs when we step outside of our comfort zone, and this is WAY outside of my comfort zone, so I’ll become a super better person then? Here’s hoping. Houston really does have the program of my dreams, and I’m hoping that even if I don’t get an internship there I can at least get my Master’s there.

  2. CONGRATS GIRL! I just finished on Thursday too! This is such an exciting time in our lives and I could just tell from reading your blog that you have some big things headed your way.

Leave a Reply

