Raise A Glass

Hi everyone!

As you know (I hope!), yesterday was my birthday! Not just any birthday, but a big one at that. The 2-1 of every American college student’s dream.

I just want to apologize in advance for the almost complete lack of pictures. Believe it or not, I’m really quite terrible about remembering to take pictures. I should have asked for my own personal paparazzi for my birthday instead of a custom medal display and some spending money.

The day started off as usual. Wake up, work out, go to work and class. But then it was time for fun!

First, dinner with family and family friends at a sushi restaurant that I had heard a lot of hype about over the years, Sansu.

If you’re ever visiting Michigan State University for some reason, look this place up! We started with drinks; my first legal one. And I decided to go with a classic, a Cosmopolitan.

Well, at least I tried it! I couldn’t finish it. I’m the kind of person who pretty much only likes drinks when I can’t taste any alcohol in it. Also, beer is a no-no and wine is pretty iffy. Try as I (and my family) might, I just can’t get myself to like the stuff.

But dinner was definitely a winner! I ordered the Teriyaki Salmon. I can’t say that I’ve ever had salmon before, but I loved it!

Halfway done demolishing before I even thought to snap a picture. Told you I was terrible.

After dinner it was time to pick up one of my best and dearest (and oldest!) friends, Colleen. Most of the people who matter most to me are either out of the state for the summer or not old enough to go out, so I’m very thankful that Colleen is a good 3 months older than me 🙂 And what luck, she had never been to a bar before either so we decided to break our bar virginity together!

Flowers from my papa.

We got ready at my apartment with some of my guy friends and before I knew it it was time to go! In my town, one bar seems to reign supreme when it comes to celebrating 21st birthdays, Rick’s. So, with tiara on head (tradition among me and my friends) and Vera Bradley wristlet in hand, Colleen, my friend Ben (our “guide” for the evening), and I walked the 2 blocks to “downtown” East Lansing for some fun.

Lolita wine glass and a gag gift from my folks.

We got there a little after 10, just a tad early to go out for most people, but within an hour the place was packed so I’m glad that we went when we did. Not even 10 seconds in the door and I get recognized by a guy I lived with freshman year. First drink of the night = paid for. That’s a VERY beautiful thing about your birthday, and especially your 21st. You won’t end up paying for a thing.

VIP baby!

I had a BLAST. I saw so many people that I went to high school with and several from my classes/the dorms freshman year. And of course, we made some new friends along the way! Dancing, talking (screaming, really), laughing, and hugging all ensued.

Long Island, I think I love you.

If you asked me what I drank that night, I would not be able to tell you. Honestly, I’m about as uneducated in the world of alcohol as I am in the worlds of sports, cars, politics, and geography. Luckily people were nice to me, for the most part, with my picky palate.

I don’t know when we left, or why we left, but I can sure tell you it wasn’t because we were tired. When party mode is on, it is ON. But, eventually the evening/morning had to come to an end, and many more naps happened the next morning. I feel like, despite my lack of any real plan for the day in question, that the day was a success and overall I had a good, and memorable, evening.

The good? No upchucking and no crying. The bad? There was definitely some bad in there. White girl wasted does not look good on anyone.

#YOLO

Leave a Reply

