Oh, Hey, I Talk For Real

Hi guys!

I know that it’s been a while since I’ve done a real, actual post. This summer has turned out to be much busier than I had originally planned/hoped it would be. At least it’s helping the time fly by?

I’ve been taking a food prep class, 1 lecture and 1 lab every week and, how crazy is this, but we’re already halfway done (yay for 6-week classes)! The workload really isn’t that overwhelming, but I’m definitely ready for it to be over. I just can’t do 2-3 hour long classes with no breaks. I just… can’t. Especially since it’s the summer and I’m trying to have more of a social life while the homework load is low. But, late nights sure do come and bite you in the butt quickly.

So, what else have I been up to?

I have two jobs. One is working with the professor that I will be a Department Aide for in the fall for a Community Nutrition course. We need to get all of the course material updated and since I’m the only one of the 5 DAs that will be assisting with the course that is staying in town for the summer. That’s about 10-15 hours a week. Then I also have a data entry job for a political consulting firm. Not much to say about that one, but that’s another 16-24 hours a week. I really like the flexibility that this job has (we can change our schedule every week and get paid at the end of every week).

I’m also still following my lifting plan by James Wilson. I’m in the midst of week 5 right now and I’m LOVING it. I haven’t taken measurements yet because I’m waiting for the halfway mark, but I definitely feel stronger and parts of my body feel more toned. I’m seriously considering buying weeks 13-24 as well for when I’m done with half marathon-ing in October.

Oh, and studying for the GRE. It makes me feel smart and dumb all at the same time. I’m working my way through some strategy guides right now and hope to take the exam at the end of July so that I’ll have plenty of time to take the text again if I feel like I need to.

I really wanted to do more “fun” reading this summer, but it’s been pretty limited. Mostly just when I’m doing my cardio section of the James Wilson workouts.

I really don’t have any big summer plans other than getting a new tattoo (or two) which I’m still debating over what exactly I want to do/where I want to get it on my body and my trip to New Jersey to see L. I will be spending June 29-July 8 on the Jersey Shore, haha. I have no clue what we’re going to do, but I know for sure at least going to the Shore and New York City and some hardcore workout sessions with the boy.

My computer is surviving on it’s last leg I think, so I took the money that I got for my birthday and then plus some to buy a new laptop. I had really hoped that this one would last another year until I graduated, but I got it in 2009 as a graduation/birthday gift and it’s been a good little nugglet until recently when I can barely get on the internet without everything freezing. So excited that it’s coming today!

I hope that all is well with everyone else!

Leave a Reply

