Article Round-Up: June 10 – 16

Roman’s Rules for Macronutrient Combination – John Romaniello is a funny, in-your-face fitness writer. Going off the teachings of John Berardi (if you don’t know who that is, look him up, he’s a name you should know if you’re in to fitness nutrition. so it is written, so it shall be done), Roman believes that fat and protein should never be combined in meals (less than 10 grams of it isn’t “allowed” at a meal). So, you should be either eating carbs with protein, or carbs with fat. Read his argument here.

Regular Exercisers Earn Nine Percent Higher Pay Than Those Who Don’t – Those who exercise regularly were found to get paid more than those who do not. Which correlation does not equal causation, some of the data is pretty promising. Even those who were good workers to begin with, but did not work out, started to earn more once they became regular exercisers.

Blue Steel and the Hero’s Journey – Another Roman article. I love the movie Zoolander, so obviously this article needed to be added to the list this week. Orange mocha frappuccinos anyone?

Coach’s Choice: Top 6 Exercises for the Pros – Advice from an MMA fighter coach on his favorite exercises and training schedule. Even the pros shouldn’t train 6-7 days a week, says Coach Van Arsdale. The body needs to rest. And his workouts for his athletes are only a little over an hour each!

2 thoughts on “Article Round-Up: June 10 – 16

  1. At first I didn’t really think the article about fats and macronutritent combinatons was really going to be worth my time, and for the most part I feel I was right. I read into it a bit though and my first thoughts halfway through the article were that if you’re not taking in a bunch of excess calories, then what does it really matter how or what kind of macronutrients are “stored” at a given time? I like that he went back and reiterated the point that the whole concept is more of a strategy to get people to look at what they’re eating and think about their food choices rather than the actual scientific portion of it all (he even says that the gains wouldn’t be that much different).

    I’m glad you post these articles – I had a conversation last night with a friend about all of the information out there and what I should listen to and we came to the conclusion that I need to find what works for me and work at tearing apart the things that I don’t agree with and explaining why. You provided me with a great chance to do that first thing in the morning and I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a Reply

