East Coast Bound

Hey everyone!

It’d been awhile since I wrote a post and so I figured I might as well write one since I have nothing to do at work right now.

I’ve definitely been feeling better since I wrote my “Breakdown in order to Break Through” post a couple weeks ago. I’m beginning to appreciate my body more now for what it can already do and has done in the past, rather than what it can’t do or has not yet done.

You know what? I have cellulite. Many women do. Mine may not be as bad as some other women’s, but I don’t want it to hinder me any longer from wearing cute dresses and skirts and from wearing shorts outside of the gym and my room… especially since Michigan is hotter than hell this summer and we’re getting 90-100 degree days.

I know that I can’t be a skinny-minny AND have muscle and strength. It’s just not how I’m built to be, and I’ll take muscle over flabby legs that look good in skinny jeans any day. I’ll look better with my clothes off (haha!).

Today is the last day of my summer class, which means no more food labs. Kind of sad, but I think that I’ve definitely become more confident in the kitchen and am more willing to try out recipes that require me doing more than just putting everything into a bowl and then putting it in to the oven to cook. I’m also down to just 1 job 2x/week because we had to file our petition at my data entry job, which I’m more than okay with and so is my family.

I do a lot. I won’t deny that. There are women who juggle much more than me and I applaud them and aspire to be just like them one day. But for now, my mother likes to voice the opinion that I need a break from so many obligations and for once I think I’m happy to oblige and look into other things to focus on, like maybe finding a hobby that doesn’t involve sweating and getting my hear rate up, haha.

Now that classes are over, my current roommate is moving out and back home. To be honest, I’m both happy and sad about this. We may not have been the best of friends, or even friends depending on how you define “friendship”, but it was still another body around so that I wasn’t all by myself. We aren’t allowed pets in our apartment (though that hasn’t stopped some of our neighbors who I have reported on several times), otherwise I would get a cat to keep me company, and L will still be gone for his internship for another 1.5 months.

I’m definitely hoping to be more social the rest of the summer, just for my own sanity. I used to think that I would enjoy living in solitude, but that’s just not the person that I am anymore.

As I’m writing this, I probably should already have most of my bags packed, because I’ll be spending 10 days visiting Lyle (+1 more to see family). This girl is East coast bound and ready to kick things up at the Jersey Shore. We have absolutely no plan, at least as far as I’m aware of, of what we’re going to do, where we’ll go, when we’ll do it. I know we’re going to take the train in to NYC a couple of times and of course get in some gnarly workouts, but other than that the schedule is completely open. And I’m okay with that for once. I’m okay with not having a set plan and knowing where I’m going to be every second of the day. I finally feel like my IBS is under control enough where I don’t have to be thinking all the time about my pills and food and what happens if I get sick.

I’ve missed L more than I can understand. You don’t realize how much you rely on people until they aren’t around any more. I feel blessed to have found a man that not only I adore, but my family adores as well. In the 2 (and some change) short years that I’ve known him so much has happened and he’s taken all most of it in stride.

I probably won’t blog while I’m away, other than maybe posting a motivation for you here and there, but I’m hoping to explode your Readers when I come back with pictures and stories to tell.

Love, peace, and strength:

Ellen aka Undercover Runner Eats

Leave a Reply

